Blog Banner

Mann starts as seven Blue and Blacks named by Wales

International | 7th February 2024

Alex Mann will make his first start on the International stage as seven Cardiff stars are named in the Wales squad to face England in the Guinness Six Nations on Saturday. 

The flanker impressed from the bench and claimed a try as Wales almost completed a remarkable comeback against Scotland. 

With James Botham ruled out due to injury, Mann replaces his fellow Blue and Black for the Twickenham clash. Keiron Assiratti is handed the number three jersey following his impressive cameo from the bench. 

In the backs, Tomos Williams is also given a starting spot with Josh Adams and Cam Winnett continuing in the back three.

In total, there are eight changes to the starting line-up with Teddy Williams missing out on a place on the bench following the return to availability of Will Rowlands.

Warren Gatland said: “We’ve been critical and tough on ourselves this week. That first half was nowhere near the standards we expect. We simply cannot start the same way this Saturday.

“We showed in the second half against Scotland what we are capable of. Now it’s about building on that performance and playing with some tempo from the off.

“We’ve made a few changes to the starting line-up this weekend which gives opportunities to the players coming in. We need to be accurate and keep our discipline.

“This is a massive game, not only because of the history and what it means to everyone in Wales. But it’s an opportunity to get things on track a bit more. England are in a rebuilding phase. We’ll go there with a lot of confidence we can build on that second-half and belief.”


Wales senior men’s team to play England at Twickenham Stadium in the Guinness Six Nations, Saturday 10 February KO 4.45pm GMT. Live on ITV and S4C.

Tîm Cymru i chwarae Lloegr yn Stadiwm Twickenham ym Mhencampwriaeth Chwe Gwlad Guinness 2024, ddydd Sadwrn 10 Chwefror 4.45pm. Yn fyw ar S4C ac ITV.

15. Cameron Winnett (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 1 cap)
14. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 55 caps)
13. George North (Ospreys / Gweilch – 118 caps)
12. Nick Tompkins (Saracens / Saraseniaid – 33 caps)
11. Rio Dyer (Dragons / Dreigiau – 15 caps)
10. Ioan Lloyd (Scarlets – 3 caps)
9. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 54 caps)
1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys / Gweilch – 26 caps)
2. Elliot Dee (Dragons / Dreigiau – 47 caps)
3. Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 3 caps)
4. Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs / Caerwysg – 13 caps) Captain / Capten
5. Adam Beard (Ospreys / Gweilch – 52 caps)
6. Alex Mann (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 1 cap)
7. Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers / CaerlÅ·r – 14 caps)
8. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons / Dreigiau – 44 caps)


16. Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 39 caps)
17. Corey Domachowski (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 7 caps)
18. Archie Griffin (Bath Rugby – uncapped / heb gap)
19. Will Rowlands (Racing 92 – 29 caps)
20. Taine Basham (Dragons / Dreigiau – 16 caps)
21. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 18 caps)
22. Cai Evans (Dragons / Dreigiau – 1 cap)
23. Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 7 caps)