Blog Banner

News article - Style G 2158

8th February 2006

Justin Burnell, the Wales Under-19 Head Coach, has said "same again" to Bradley Davies' team who stunned England with a 13-10 victory last Friday for their next Under-19 Six Nations clash, against Scotland at Aberavon on Thursday night (kick-off 7.00 pm).

It will be the third straight match that an unchanged Wales Under-19 have played together following their historic 27-7 victory over Australia - the young Wallabies' first Test defeat on Welsh soil - and last weekend's triumph over England.

Scotland have lost their last two games, against Italy and France, but Burnell insists "we are taking no notice whatsoever of those results.

"Scotland are sure to be wounded by their recent results, and perhaps we could have taken the opportunity to look at other players, but we have respect for all our opponents and so we will field an unchanged team against the Scots.

"It was a fantastic victory over England because they are a very impressive side and the result was massive credit to the Wales squad as a group of players.

"We have created a close-knit enviroNment in the squad and last Friday was all about their never-say-die attitude and committment to playing for each other."

Wales Under-19: Martyn Thomas (Scarlets); Alec Jenkins (Scarlets), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Ashley Smith (Dragons), James Lewis (Dragons); Rhys Jones (Exiles/Sale Sharks), Robert Lewis (Dragons); Hugh Gustafson (Scarlets), Kenneth Owens (Scarlets), Jamie Corsi (Dragons), Bradley Davies (Blues, captain), Lou Reed (Scarlets), Joshua Turnbull (Scarlets), Daniel Franks (Blues), Lewis Evans (Dragons).

Replacements: Keiron Jenkins (Blues), Nicholas Eaves (Blues), Matthew Larsen (Blues), Marc Breeze (Ospreys), Jimmy Norris (Dragons), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Darren Allinson (Scarlets).

Wales U21 Team has also been announced featuring six Cardiff Blues players in the starting fifteen and one on the bench.

Wales Under-21: Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues); Darren Daniel (Llanelli Scarlets), Andrew Bishop (Ospreys), Dafydd Hewitt (Cardiff Blues), Chris Czekaj (Cardiff Blues); James Hook (Ospreys), Martin Roberts (Ospreys); Rhys Gill (Cardiff Blues), Duane Goodfield (Cardiff Blues), Phil Osborne (Dragons), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dominic Day (Llanelli Scarlets), Craig Everett (Worcester Academy), Rhys Shellard (Cardiff Blues), Tom Smith (Ospreys, captain).

Replacements: Ed Shervington (Ospreys), Ian Jones (Llanelli Scarlets), Will jones (Dragons), Ben Lewis (Ospreys), Tom Riley (Cardiff Blues), Aled Thomas (Dragons), Liam Davies (Llanelli Scarlets).