Blog Banner

10 Cardiff youngsters earn Wales under-18 squad places

International | 10th March 2022

After an impressive Regional Age Grade Championship campaign, 10 Cardiff age grade stars have been named in the extended Wales under-18 squad ahead of their clash with England next week.

Wales kicked off their preparations with two non-capped matches against Scotland at Ystrad Mynach last weekend, but the encounter in Taunton next Sunday will be the first capped match at this level since August 2019. 

On that occasion, Cardiff's Mason Grady was amongst the star performers on tour in South Africa, with future full internationals Christ Tshiunza and Ben Carter as well as current Wales under-20 captain Alex Mann part of the squad.

Cardiff were edged out of the league title by Dragons in dramatic fashion on the final day of the Championship campaign, but have a healthy representation in Matt O'Brien's 37-man squad.

Six Blue and Blacks forwards are given the nod with loosehead Ioan Emmanuel and hooker Saul Hurley earning their places alongside back row options Harry Beddall, Harper Chamberlain, Lucas de la Rua and Kenzie Jenkins.

Whitchurch High School's Orson James is amongst the scrum half options for O'Brien while outside half duo Jacob Symes and Harri Wilde are also included. Cardiff's contingent is completed with the presence of centre Louie Hennessey, who captained Hartpury College to the English league title this season.

Cardiff's talent pathway manager, Aled James, is part of O'Brien's backroom team, joining former Cardiff prop, Sam Hobbs - who is now part of the Dragons' academy set-up - and Scarlets centre Steff Hughes.

Wales are due to travel to Marcoussis next month for an Under-18 Men's Festival, where they are due to compete against England, France and Ireland.

Wales Under-18

Harry Beddall (Cardiff), Gethn Cannon (Dragons), Harper Chamberlain (Cardiff) Conall Couch (Dragons), Lucas de la Rua (Cardiff), Ioan Emmanuel (Cardiff), Tom Golder (Harlequins), Jonny Green (Harlequins), Kian Hire (Ospreys), Saul Hurley (Cardiff), Kenzie Jenkins (Cardiff), Connor Lewis (Dragons), Lewis Marsh (Ospreys), Josh Morse (Scarlets), Will Plessis (Scarlets), Joe Rees (Scarlets), Celt Ffransis Roberts (RGC), Nick Thomas (Dragons), Morgan Williams (Dragons), Isaac Young (Scarlets)

Harri Ackerman (Dragons), Huw Anderson (Dragons), Sam Berry (Dragons), Cameron Davies (Dragons), Ioan Duggan (Dragons), Tom Edwards (Scarlets), Louie Hennessey (Cardiff / Hartpury), Orson James (Cardiff), Derwyn Cain Jones (RGC), Gabe Lacey (Bristol Bears), Rhodri Lewis (Ospreys), Isaac Morgan (Ospreys), Macs Page (Scarlets), Walker Price (Dragons), Lucca Setaro (Scarlets), Jacob Symes (Cardiff), Harri Wilde (Cardiff)