Blog Banner

Three Cardiff Blues stars included in Six Nations opener

First Team News | 5th February 2021

Three Cardiff Blues stars have been included for Wales’ Guinness Six Nations opener against Ireland on Sunday.

Tomos Williams and Hallam Amos both start in the back-line, while Josh Navidi is included on the bench having recently returned from injury.

Wayne Pivac has selected a vastly experienced side, which also includes Cardiff Blues pathway products Louis Rees-Zammit, Leigh Halfpenny and Callum Sheedy.

Ospreys flanker Dan Lydiate makes his first start for Wales since November 2018, reward for his form, making his 65th appearance for Wales in an all British & Irish Lions back-row alongside Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau.

Captain Alun Wyn Jones will partner the returning Adam Beard in the second-row.

Ken Owens returns to the side after missing the autumn campaign due to injury and lines up alongside Wyn Jones and Tomas Francis.

Scrum-half Williams will make his first appearance since last year's tournament after injury and partners Dan Biggar at half-back.

Johnny Williams partners George North in the centre, with North winning his 99th Wales cap.

The back-three comprises of  Amos, Louis Rees-Zammit and Leigh Halfpenny.

"We are looking forward to kicking off our campaign this weekend and putting into action two really good training weeks," said Wales head coach Wayne Pivac.

"We made strides forward through the autumn and we are looking to take that into Sunday and into this tournament.

"The Six Nations is a fantastic tournament and is important for us rugby wise but it is important for so much more this year.

"It is important for communities across the country and we want to play our part and give everyone something to look forward to and to get excited about on the weekend."

Elliot Dee, Rhodri Jones and Leon Brown provide the front-row cover for Wales with Will Rowlands and Josh Navidi completing the forward contingent.  Gareth Davies, Callum Sheedy and Nick Tompkins provide the back-line cover.



1. Wyn Jones (30 Caps)

2. Ken Owens (77 Caps)

3. Tomas Francis (52 Caps)

4. Adam Beard (21 Caps)

5. Alun Wyn Jones (CAPT) (143 Caps)

6. Dan Lydiate (64 Caps)

7. Justin Tipuric (80 Caps)

8. Taulupe Faletau (81 Caps)

9. Tomos Williams (20 Caps)

10. Dan Biggar (87 Caps)

11. Hallam Amos (22 Caps)

12. Johnny Williams (2 Caps)

13. George North (98 Caps)

14. Louis Rees-Zammit (4 Caps)

15. Leigh Halfpenny (93 Caps)



16. Elliot Dee (33 Caps)

17. Rhodri Jones (17 Caps)

18. Leon Brown (12 Caps)

19. Will Rowlands (5 Caps)

20. Josh Navidi (24 Caps)

21. Gareth Davies (57 Caps)

22. Callum Sheedy (4 Caps)

23. Nick Tompkins (8 Caps)