Blog Banner

Six Cardiff Blues stars set to take on Barbarians

International | 28th November 2019

Cardiff Blues half backs Tomos Williams and Jarrod Evans will link-up on the international stage as Wales welcome Barbarians to Principality Stadium on Saturday.

The academy products are joined by four of their regional team-mates in the matchday 23, as Wayne Pivac names his first squad since taking over as head coach after the recent Rugby World Cup in Japan.

The uncapped encounter also sees Josh Adams line up on the wing, while Dillon Lewis is handed the number three jersey.

Seb Davies returns to the international fold for the first time since the 2018 November Test against Tonga, and is named on the bench alongside Owen Lane, who made his debut against Ireland in the summer and was a late call-up to the World Cup.

Justin Tipuric will captain the side, which features uncapped Scarlets wing, Johnny McNicholl, for the first time.

“This week has been hugely exciting and hugely important for us as a group,” said Pivac.

“It has been an opportunity for us as a new squad and management to get together and to set the scene for what the future holds.

“There has been quite a lot of learnings for the squad this week, looking at what we are trying to do and us providing some clarity but we have also stressed the enjoyment factor of being together for the first time and the excitement of not only this weekend but the future.

“This weekend itself is really exciting. The Barbarians are what rugby is all about. It is the fun element of the game and supporters should be looking forward to some good old-fashioned running rugby and it should be an entertaining afternoon.

“It is fantastic to have a double header at the Stadium with Wales Women and it should be a great showcase of rugby.”

Wales Men v Barbarians (Saturday 30 November, Principality Stadium, 14.45am):
1. Wyn Jones (Scarlets)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets)
3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues)
4. Jake Ball (Scarlets)
5. Adam Beard (Ospreys)
6. Aaron Shingler (Scarlets)
7. Justin Tipuric (Capt) (Ospreys)
8. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons)

9. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues)
10. Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues)
11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues)
12. Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets)
13. Owen Watkin (Ospreys)
14. Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets)
15. Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets)

16. Elliot Dee (Dragons)
17. Rob Evans (Scarlets)
18. Leon Brown (Dragons)
19. Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues)
20. Ollie Griffiths (Dragons)
21. Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
22. Sam Davies (Dragons)
23. Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues)