Blog Banner

Premiership Select name team for Nottingham

21st January 2016

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select (CBPS) have named the team to face Nottingham Rugby in the final pool game of the British & Irish Cup at Ladybay on Friday evening (kick-off 7.45pm).

The coaching team have named a team with a mix of youth and experience as CBPS look to finish the competition with a win in England.

There are seven changes to the side that lost out in the closing stages to London Welsh last weekend at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park.

Callum Hall is called up to full back while Teri Morgan Gee gets a first appearance this season in the competition on the wing.

A new-look half back pairing will see fly half Jarrod Evans – this week named in the 6 Nations squad by Wales Under-20s – and scrum half Lewis Jones combine.

Hooker Ashleigh James starts in the front row while a new back row trio sees Shane Lewis-Hughes and Morgan Sienawski – both also named by Wales Under-20s this week – play alongside James Sheekey.

Head Coach Richard Hodges said: “We are looking to finish the pool with a win away against a Nottingham side that we drew with in an entertaining game when we met in difficult conditions at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park back in November.

“The spine of the team is experienced while a number of young players are given the chance to impress in the Midlands.

“The likes of Corey Domachowski, Kieron Assiratti, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Morgan Sieniawski, Jarrod Evans, Harri Millard and Elis-Wyn Benham all won Wales Under-20 call-ups this week so it will be great to see them play in this competition.”

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select: 15 Callum Hall, 14 Teri Morgan Gee, 13 Richard Smith, 12 Harri Millard, 11 Elis-Wyn Benham, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Lewis Jones; 1 Brad Thyer, 2 Ashleigh James, 3 Craig Mitchell, 4 Jevon Groves, 5 Chris Dicomidis , 6 Shane Lewis-Hughes, 7 Morgan Sienawski , 8 James Sheekey

Replacements: 16 Joe Tomlinson, 17 Corey Domachowski, 18 Kieron Assiratti, 19 Miles Normandale, 20 Calum Bradbury, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Nick Griffiths