Blog Banner

Blues Name Team To Play Scarlets

13th September 2005

Cardiff Blues have named a team showing two changes for tomorrow night's East versus West Wales clash against Llanelli Scarlets at Cardiff Arms Park (Wednesday 14th September kick off 7.10pm).

Deiniol Jones and Ben Evans are both given starts as the Blues go in search of their first competitive win of the season. There are no changes in the Backs.

Director of Coaching David Young is still awaiting the return to fitness and availability of a number of key players including Martyn Williams, Gethin Jenkins, Tom Shanklin, Jamie Robinson and Marc Stcherbina.

News that Xavier Rush is able to join up with the squad from Auckland due to an earlier than first reported release is sure to boast the squad, especially ahead of the start of the Powergen Cup and Heineken Cup in October.

Rush said, "I will always be grateful for the opportunities Auckland Rugby has given me and the times I have had with the team.

"I appreciate the early release I have been granted and it will definitely help me prepare for the new challenges ahead."

Last weekend the Scarlets picked up their first victory of the season at the second attempt with an away win against The Borders. Last season the Blues edged a tight game at the Arms Park to defeat the Scarlets 14-10.

Nick Macleod, Chris Czekaj, Rhys Williams (Capt), Trystan Davies, Craig Morgan, Nicky Robinson, Michael Phillips

John Yapp, Rhys Thomas, Ben Evans, Deiniol Jones, Robert Sidoli Mamma Molitika, Andy Powell, Robin Sowden-Taylor


Martin Jones / Nathan Llewellyn, Gareth Williams, Craig Quinell, Mark Lewis, Ryan Powell, Lee Thomas, Matthew Nuthall

Tickets are available now - call the Ticket Hotline on 029 2030 2030 or visit

Also supporters will be keen to know the Cardiff Blues versus Munster game has been confirmed as a 7.30pm kick off on Friday 4th November.