Blog Banner

Awesome foursome named to face England

5th March 2014

Cardiff Blues quartet Leigh Halfpenny, Alex Cuthbert, Gethin Jenkins and Sam Warburton will line-up for Wales as they face England in the RBS 6 Nations at Twickenham on Sunday (3pm kick-off) - with British and Irish Lions duo Jonathan Davies and Alun Wyn Jones also returning to the starting XV.

Davies returns from injury to reunite Wales' most capped centre pairing as he lines up alongside Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro).

The only change in pack, from the victory against France, sees Jones return in the second-row after missing the Millennium Stadium clash with a foot infection.  He partners Luke Charteris (Perpignan) behind a front-row of Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues),Richard Hibbard and Adam Jones (both Ospreys), with Scarlets lock Jake Ballmoving to the bench. The back-row remains unchanged with captain Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues) featuring alongside Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro) and Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).Rhys Webb (Ospreys) and Rhys Priestland (Scarlets) continue their partnership at half-back.

There is one positional change in the back-line with George North (Northampton Saints) returning to the wing from centre, in place of Scarlets back Liam Williams who provides cover from the bench. North lines up alongside Cardiff Blues pair Alex Cuthbert and Leigh Halfpenny in the back three.

On the bench Ken Owens, Rhodri Jones (both Scarlets) and Paul James (Bath Rugby) are named as the front-row replacements and are joined by Ball and Ospreys flanker Justin Tipuric to complete the forward cover and Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Dan Biggar (Ospreys) and Williams provide cover for the backs.

Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), George North (Northampton Saints), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Richard Hibbard (Ospreys), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), Sam Warburton (CAPT – Cardiff Blues), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).
Replacements: Ken Owens (Scarlets), Paul James (Bath Rugby), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Liam Williams (Scarlets).