Blog Banner

When Cardiff Blues mauled the Cheetahs

1st August 2017

The 2017-18 season will not be the first time Cardiff Blues have faced the Toyota Cheetahs - they claimed an historic victory over the South African outfit in 2012.

As part of pre-season preparations five years ago, Phil Davies led the Blues to the Rainbow Nation for a training camp that culminated in a clash against the Cheetahs for the Sir George Grey Cup.

They claimed a well-earned 32-31 victory and will renew the rivalry this season after both the Cheetahs and Southern Kings were introduced to the newly expanded Guinness PRO14.

Back in Bloemfontein in 2012, Davies selected two XVs for each half. They trailed 19-15 at half-time despite tries from Owen Williams and Chris Czekaj.

The Cheetahs, who had already notched up three tries in the first half, quickly added a fourth but Tom James hit-back for Cardiff Blues.

Ceri Sweeney kept the scoreboard ticking and Macauley Cook handed his side the lead for the first time mid-way through the half.

The South Africans responded with another converted try but Sweeney displayed nerves of steel to snatch the victory at the death with a late penalty.

Sir George Grey Cup Saturday 4 August 2012, Kick-off: 3.00pm

Cardiff Blues

First Half
15. Jason Tovey 14. Tom James 13. Owen Williams 12. Dafydd Hewitt 11. Chris Czekaj 10. Rhys Patchell 9. Lewis Jones
1. Nathan Trevett 2. Andi Kyriacou 3. Benoit Bourrust 4. Macauley Cook 5. James Down 6. Robin Copeland 7. Josh Navidi 8. Andries Pretorius (Captain)

Second Half
15. Daniel Fish 14. Tom James 13. Gavin Evans 12. Gareth Davies 11. Chris Czekaj 10. Ceri Sweeney 9. Robert Lewis
1. Jake Cooper-Woolley 2. Marc Breeze 3. Scott Andrews 4. Macauley Cook 5. Lou Reed 6. Rory Watts-Jones 7. Thomas Young 8. Andries Pretorius (Captain)

Toyota Free State Cheetahs
15 Hennie Daniller 14 Philip Snyman 13 Robert Ebersohn 12 Barry Geel 11 Cameron Jacobs 10 Riaan Smit 9 Piet Van Zyl
8 Davon Raubenheimer 7 Pieter Labuschagne 6 Kabamba Floors 5 Izak Van der Westhuizen 4 Andries Ferreira 3 Marcel Van der Merwe 2 Adriaan Strauss (C)1 Trevor Nyakane
16 Hercu Liebenberg 17 Ross Geldenhuys 18 Waltie Vermeulen 19 Frans Viljoen 20 Sarel Pretorius 21 Sias Ebersohn 22 Andries Strauss

You can watch Conference A opponents Toyota Cheetahs at Cardiff Arms Park in the 2017-18 season. Cardiff Blues Season Memberships are on sale now with prices starting at just £190 for adults. Buy yours today!