Blog Banner

Turnbull leads Cardiff on 200th appearance

First Team News | 1st March 2024

Josh Turnbull returns to captain Cardiff on his 200th competitive appearance for the club.

The Blue and Blacks make three changes for the visit of BKT United Rugby Championship leaders Leinster to the Arms Park on Saturday night (7.35pm).

Turnbull, who made his debut for the club in 2014, has been passed fit for the encounter and brings further experience to the pack with Ellis Jenkins also returning from injury.

There is just one further change behind the pack with Max Clark making his first start for the club, following Rey Lee-Lo’s suspension.

Leinster are currently top of the URC having won eight of their ten fixtures in the competition but they did fall to defeat on their last visit to the Arms Park. 

Cardiff Rugby head coach Matt Sherratt said: “We are all really pleased for Josh, who has made an enormous contribution to the club both on and off the pitch.

“To make 200 appearances for Cardiff, on top of 130 odd games for the Scarlets and 13 Wales caps, is no mean feat especially in the position he plays and the way he puts his body on the line.

“He gives his absolute all every time he pulls on that Blue and Black jersey, is a great role model and this is a great milestone for him to reach. Hopefully it is a great game and a memorable occasion for Josh and his family.

 “We all know how good Leinster are but we have shown that we can beat any team on our day at the Arms Park.  Another big crowd is expected on Saturday night. It all makes for an exciting occasion and we will give it our absolute all.”

Matthew Aubrey is included among the replacements for his first competitive appearance for the club after recovering from injury.  Lucas de la Rua is also included during a fallow week in the Under-20s Six Nations.

Cardiff Rugby: Jacob Beetham (Brecon Comp, CAVC), Owen Lane (Whitchurch, Cowbridge), Max Clark (Bryanston ), Ben Thomas (Corpus Christi, CAVC), Aled Summerhill (Porth County, Coleg y Cymoedd ); Tinus de Beer (Waterkloof, University of Pretoria ) Ellis Bevan (Bryanston, Cardiff Met); Rhys Carré (Corpus Christi, Cowbridge ), Liam Belcher (Porth County, Coleg y Cymoedd ), Will Davies-King (Chepstow Comp, Kings School, Cardiff Met), Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cymmer, Coleg y Cymoedd), Josh Turnbull (capt) (Ysgol Gyfun Emly, Coleg Sir Gar), Ellis Jenkins (Bryn Celynnog, Cardiff Uni), Thomas Young (Rhydywaun), Lopeti Timani (Tonga College Atele).

Replacements: Dafydd Hughes (Llandovery), Rhys Barratt (Bryn Celynnog, Coleg y Cymoedd), Ciaran Parker (St Ambrose College), Ben Donnell (Henry Beaufort, Peter Symonds College), Alun Lawrence (Ysgol Llanhari, Coleg y Cymoedd, USW), Lucas de la Rua (Corpus Christi, CAVC), Matthew Aubrey (Pontarddulais Comp, Gower College), Willis Halaholo (Avondale College, Mount Albert Grammar).