Blog Banner

Martin and James return to Wales U20 squad as Six Nations draws to a close

International | 17th March 2023

Cardiff duo Mackenzie Martin and Harrison James return to the Wales U20 squad as the Six Nations campaign draws to a close in Oyonnax on Sunday (KO 8pm).

The academy pair are both named on the bench at Stade Charles-Mathon and are joined in the matchday 23 by three further Blue and Blacks representatives, who retain their spots from the narrow victory to Italy last week.

Cameron Winnett continues his run in the number 15 jersey while Lucas de la Rua keeps hold of his starting spot in the back row, having crossed the whitewash in Treviso.

Flanker Gwilym Evans joins former CAVC duo Martin and James amongst the replacements as Byron Hayward’s side hunt a first win of the campaign.

A total of five changes have been made to the side that narrowly lost to Italy, with Oli Andrew, Tom Florence and Harri Williams returning to the backline.

Lewis Morgan and Louis Fletcher are both introduced into the front row to make their first starts for the side.

Wales will be up against a strong home outfit, as they look for their first win on French soil since 2013, but Hayward is confident his side can push them close.

“It was another disappointing result against Italy last time out, but again, there were plenty of positives to come out of that game,” he said.

“There was no shortage of effort from the boys and we still managed to score some good tries with slick play against what was a very dominant pack.

“We expect France to be very similar opposition on Sunday. They are big and physical up front and possess pace in the backs so we will have to be on our toes to keep them at bay.

“We have taken the opportunity to make a few changes by rotating players in positions where we are particularly strong,” said Hayward.

“It’s great for the likes of Lewis Morgan and Louis Fletcher to get their first starts after doing well when they came on against Italy.”

Wales U20s v France, Stade Charles-Mathon, Sunday 19 March (KO 8pm GMT)
15 Cameron Winnett (Cardiff Rugby)
14 Oli Andrew (Dragons Rugby)
13 Tom Florence (Ospreys)
12 Bryn Bradley (Harlequins)
11 Llien Morgan (Ospreys)
10 Dan Edwards (Ospreys)
9 Harri Williams (Scarlets);
1 Dylan Kelleher Griffiths (Dragons Rugby)
2 Lewis Morgan (Scarlets)
3 Louis Fletcher (Ospreys)    
4 Liam Edwards (Ospreys)
5 Jonny Green (Harlequins)
6 Ryan Woodman (Dragons Rugby – Capt)
7 Lucus De La Rua (Cardiff Rugby)
8 Morgan Morse (Ospreys)

16 Lewis Lloyd (Ospreys)
17 Freddie Chapman (Ospreys)
18 Tomas Pritchard (Scarlets)
19 Mackenzie Martin (Cardiff Rugby)
20 Gwilym Evans (Cardiff Rugby)
21 Che Hope (Dragons Rugby)
22 Harrison James (Cardiff Rugby)
23 Kian Abraham (Scarlets)