Blog Banner

Five selected for Wales Test

27th May 2016

Five Cardiff Blues have been named in the Wales match-day 23 to face England at Twickenham.

The Test is the first in a five match summer schedule for Warren Gatland’s men and Kristian Dacey, Gethin Jenkins, Josh Turnbull, Lloyd Williams and Gareth Anscombe have all been selected on the bench.

Dan Lydiate will captain the side and pack down alongside blindside Ross Moriarty, who scored a brace in that win over the Azzurri, and Taulupe Faletau.

“When you look at the summer series ahead, this is a really important match for the squad,” said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“When looking at previous summer tours and planning for New Zealand, we felt we needed greater preparation to prepare us for the step up in intensity and the match against England will provide that for us.

“It will be an important hit-out for both teams and as ever it will be an important Test match as it’s England v Wales at Twickenham.

“There is a lot of continuity in our squad and a great amount of experience and that is going to be vital over the next five weeks.

“Dan led us exceptionally well in our last match so deserves to continue with those duties this weekend.”

Sam Warburton was not considered for selection due to a shoulder injury but both he and Tom James are part of the squad that will travel to New Zealand, as is BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park-bound Matthew Morgan.

Liam Williams (Scarlets), George North (Northampton Saints), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Hallam Amos (Dragons), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester), Dan Lydiate (Capt - Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues), James King (Ospreys), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues).