Blog Banner

Fab five named for Rugby World Cup

31st August 2015

Wales have named an experienced squad for the 2015 Rugby World Cup with fifteen players with tournament experience named in the 31-man squad - and include five players from Cardiff Blues.

Sam Warburton will lead the team and is joined by regional team-mates Gethin Jenkins, Lloyd Williams, Alex Cuthbert and Cory Allen.

Prop Jenkins, the world's most capped prop, will head to his fourth tournament and is included alongside fellow props Tomas Francis, Paul James, Aaron Jarvis and Samson Lee.

Hooker Ken Owens, who featured for Wales in the 2011 competition, is named at hooker along with Scott Baldwin.

Five second-rows have been included, Jake Ball, Luke Charteris, Bradley Davies, Dominic Day and Alun Wyn Jones.

Wales will be led in the second successive Rugby World Cup by flanker Warburton. He is joined by fellow back-rows Taulupe Faletau, James King, Dan Lydiate and Justin Tipuric.

Fourteen backs make up the 31-man contingent. Gareth Davies, Rhys Webb and Lloyd Williams are the three scrum-half's with Dan Biggar and Rhys Priestland the fly-half's. The three centre's are Cory Allen, Jamie Roberts and Scott Williams with the outside backs featuring Hallam Amos, Alex Cuthbert, Leigh Halfpenny, Matthew Morgan, George North and Liam Williams


Tomas Francis (1 Cap)
Paul James (61 Caps)
Aaron Jarvis (12 Caps)
Gethin Jenkins (115 Caps)
Samson Lee (12 Caps)

Scott Baldwin (10 Caps)
Ken Owens (29 Caps)

Second Rows:
Jake Ball (13 Caps)
Luke Charteris (56 Caps)
Bradley Davies (46 Caps)
Dominic Day (1 Cap)
Alun Wyn Jones (90 Caps)

Back Row:
Taulupe Faleatu (47 Caps)
James King (5 Caps)
Dan Lydiate (47 Caps)
Justin Tipuric (33 Caps)
Sam Warburton (54 Caps) (CAPTAIN)

Scrum Half:
Gareth Davies (3 Caps)
Rhys Webb (15 Caps)
Lloyd Williams (19 Caps)

Fly Half:
Dan Biggar (25 Caps)
Rhys Priestland (28 Caps)

Cory Allen (2 Caps)
Jamie Roberts (70 Caps)
Scott Williams (31 Caps)

Outside Backs:
Hallam Amos (3 Caps)
Alex Cuthbert (34 Caps)
Leigh Halfpenny (61 Caps)
Matthew Morgan (2 Caps)
George North (50 Caps)
Liam Williams (23 Caps)