Blog Banner

Evans called into starting line-up for final summer Test

International | 15th July 2021

Jarrod Evans will wear the number 10 jersey in Wales' final summer Test against Argentina on Saturday (KO 3.00pm).

The Cardiff outside half missed out on the opening win over Canada through an ankle injury, but made impact off the bench in the draw against Los Pumas last week.

The seven-times capped international is joined in the matchday squad by nine of his Cardiff team-mates as Wayne Pivac makes a total of seven changes to his starting line-up.

Evans' links up with a familiar half back partner in Tomos Williams, who also impressed as a replacement last week, scoring a try and providing an assist as Wales mounted a come-back against Michael Cheika's side. Elsewhere in the backline, back three duo Owen Lane and Hallam Amos retain their starting spots.

Josh Turnbull's stand-out season will come to an end as he earns a place in the starting line-up, joining James Botham in the back row.

New Cardiff lock Matthew Screech, who returns to his home club from Dragons this summer, is set for his Test debut from the bench. The academy graduate is joined amongst the replacements by prop Dillon Lewis and centre Willis Halaholo.

“We were all frustrated after drawing last weekend and felt we left a number of opportunities out on the pitch,” said head coach Pivac.

“Argentina brought what we expected, they were big, physical and direct and exerted pressure with their kicking game. For some of this group, it was the first time they have faced that level of physicality and intensity and this week we will need to be much more accurate and disciplined.

“It is another exciting opportunity to face a quality outfit and we can still win the series, which would be a great way to finish our season.

“We have freshened the squad up a bit, giving others an opportunity to impress and they are eager to make a big impression.”

Wales team to face Argentina, Saturday 17th July, 15:00 (live on S4C)

1 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys) (2 caps)

2 Elliot Dee (Dragons) (39 caps)

3 Leon Brown (Dragons) (19 caps)

4 Ben Carter (Dragons) (2 cap)

5 Will Rowlands (Dragons) (9 caps)

6 Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Rugby) (12 caps)

7 James Botham (Cardiff Rugby) (8 caps)

8 Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (47 caps)

9 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby) (24 caps)

10 Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Rugby) (7 caps)

11 Tom Rogers (Scarlets) (1 caps)

12 Jonathan Davies (CAPT) (Scarlets) (90 caps)

13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens) (12 caps)

14 Owen Lane (Cardiff Rugby) (3 caps)

15 Hallam Amos (Cardiff Rugby) (24 caps)


16 Sam Parry (Ospreys) (4 caps)

17 Rhodri Jones (Ospreys) (20 cap)

18 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby) (30 caps)

19 Matthew Screech (Cardiff Rugby) (Uncapped)

20 Taine Basham (Dragons) (2 cap)

21 Kieran Hardy (Scarlets) (6 caps)

22 Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears) (11 caps)

23 Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby) (6 caps)