Blog Banner

Davies set for Wales under-20 debut as four Cardiff Blues retain starting spots

Pathway | 6th March 2019

Ioan Rhys Davies is set for his Wales under-20 debut as a replacement in Friday's clash against Scotland, as four Cardiff Blues youngsters are named in the starting XV.

Gareth Williams' side will head to Meggetland with confidence following their dramatic last-gasp victory over arch rivals England in round three.

A win over bottom-placed Scotland could set-up a potential Championship decider against Ireland in the final round of action.

Williams has made a total of four changes to his starting line-up for the trip to the Scottish capital, but he has kept faith in the four Cardiff Blues academy members who retain their spots in the XV.

Ioan Davies, Ben Warren and Teddy Williams are amongst the seven ever-present players in Wales' starting line-up for the Championship, while centre Max Llewellyn missed out on the opening encounter against France through injury.

Former Coleg y Cymoedd back row, Ioan Rhys Davies, has been capped at under-18 level but is set for his first involvement with the under-20 side and is named on the bench.

Earlier this week, Wales were drawn in the same pool as hosts Argentina, defending champions France and Fiji in the pool stages of June's World Rugby Under-20 Championship.

Head coach Williams has highlighted the importance of using the Six Nations campaign as a crucial preparation period ahead of the trip to South America.

Williams said: "There are a number of changes in the squad, and this is a reflection of the competition we have leading towards the World Cup.

"We are very focussed on the challenge of Scotland. They are a good team who will be excited to be at home and they will pose a real threat to us.

"We've been keen to put England behind us despite being proud of the resolve we showed in gaining that result.”

Wales Under-20: Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues); Alex Morgan (Gloucester), Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), Aneurin Owen (Dragons), Dewi Cross (Ospreys); Cai Evans (Ospreys), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons); Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), Dewi Lake (Ospreys - CAPT), Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Jac Price (Scarlets), Ellis Thomas (Llanelli), Jac Morgan (Aberavon / Scarlets), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets)

Replacements: Will Griffiths (Dragons), Tom Devine (Dragons), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Ioan Rhys Davies (Cardiff Blues), Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys)