Blog Banner

Cardiff quintet included for Wales

International | 16th August 2023

Five Cardiff Rugby stars have been selected to face South Africa in the 2023 Vodafone Summer Series this Saturday - the final warm-up ahead of Rugby World Cup. 

Corey Domachowski, Keiron Assiratti and Mason Grady all start at the Principality Stadium with Tomos Williams and Teddy Williams named on the bench with the latter set for his Wales debut. 

Former Blue and Blacks Alex Cuthbert, Liam Williams and Max Llewellyn are also included as Wales take on the reigning champions. 

Wales head coach Warren Gatland said: “Preparations have gone well. We’re really pleased with the whole squad. We’re trying to build some depth within the team and there’s been a great atmosphere.

“In the first couple of games what was really pleasing for me was the physicality we brought and the way we defended. There are still things for us to work on in terms of being much more accurate. There’s been a lot of learning from that second England game and hopefully we put that into practice against South Africa. There’s another opportunity for this group of 23 players to put their hand up before we select the world cup squad.

“We’re expecting confidence and physicality from South Africa. They don’t make a lot of mistakes. It’s a very experienced team for them. But we’ve got a great chance to go out there in front of a home crowd and produce some of the good things that we did in both the games against England. We just need to make sure we play for 80 minutes and are accurate for 80 minutes.”


15. Liam Williams (Kubota Spears – 85 caps)
14. Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys / Gweilch – 57 caps)
13. Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 3 caps)
12. Johnny Williams (Scarlets – 5 caps)
11. Rio Dyer (Dragons / Dreigiau – 8 caps)
10. Dan Biggar (Toulon – 109 caps)
9. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 17 caps)
1. Corey Domachowski ( Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 1 cap)
2. Elliot Dee (Dragons / Dreigiau – 42 caps
3. Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 1 cap)
4. Ben Carter (Dragons / Dreigiau – 10 caps)
5. Will Rowlands (Dragons / Dreigiau – 24 caps)
6. Dan Lydiate (Dragons / Dreigiau – 70 caps)
7. Jac Morgan (Ospreys / Gweilch – 10 caps) captain / capten
8. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons / Dreigiau – 38 caps)

Replacements / Eilyddion
16. Sam Parry (Ospreys / Gweilch – 6 caps)
17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys / Gweilch – 43 caps)
18. Henry Thomas (Montpellier – 1 cap)
19. Teddy Williams (Cardiff Rugby/ Caerdydd – uncapped / heb gap)
20. Taine Basham (Dragons / Dreigiau – 12 caps)
21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby/ Caerdydd – 47 caps)
22. Max Llewellyn (Gloucester Rugby / Caerloyw – 1 cap)
23. Cai Evans (Dragons / Dreigiau – uncapped / heb gap)