Blog Banner

Blues youngsters named by Wales Under-20s

11th February 2015

Four Cardiff Blues players are handed starts for Wales Under-20s as they face Scotland on Friday night (kick-off 5.55pm at Gala RFC).

Garyn Smith, Tomos Williams, Liam Belcher and Dillon Lewis all retain their places. There are two changes and one positional to the starting line-up for the second Under 20 Six Nations game. Ospreys and Bridgend centre Owen Watkin joins Blues ace Garyn Smith in the midfield, with Barney Nightingale moving to the left wing.

Captain Rory Thornton has been released to play for the Ospreys against Edinburgh, fellow Osprey Adam Beard taking his place in the side, while Newport captain and man-of-the-match against England, Ollie Griffiths has been handed the captain's armband.

Coach co-ordinator Allan Lewis said, "It was a fantastic win over England. The defence was excellent and we really challenged the opposition.

"It gave us a good platform to prepare for this week but we are certainly not underestimating Scotland. They will be bruised after a hard defeat in France, but we know they will be physical and out to prove a point, especially at home.

"Rory (Thornton) had a fantastic game against England and it is a good opportunity now to play Guinness Pro 12 rugby for the Ospreys. The situation also gives another young player a chance to develop and be exposed to this level of international rugby. Adam (Beard) is a big, very athletic lock and has been playing for Aberavon in the Principality Premiership.

"Similarly in the centre, this is a great chance for Owen (Watkin), who is big and skilful and still young enough to play Under 18 international rugby, to see what he can do at this level.”

Wales play at Netherdale, Galashiels at 5.55pm on Friday (13 March), with the match shown live on S4C.
Tickets for the game are £10 for adults, seniors (aged 60+) £5, concessions FREE

Wales Under 20 v Scotland: Dafydd Howells (Ospreys); Joshua Adams (Scarlets), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Garyn Smith (Blues), Barney Nightingale (Dragons); Dan Jones (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Blues); Luke Garrett (Dragons), Liam Belcher (Blues), Dillon Lewis (Blues), Joe Davies (Dragons), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Tom Phillips (Scarlets), Ollie Griffiths (Dragons), Harrison Keddie (Dragons)

Replacements: Torin Myhill (Scarlets), Keagan Bale (Dragons), Leon Brown (Dragons), Rory Bartle (Gloucester), Jordan Viggers (Blues), Kieran Hardy (Scarlets), James Whittingham (Blues), Rhys Williams (Leicester Tigers)