Blog Banner

Blues v Ospreys Team News

1st March 2006

Director of Coaching David Young has announced a strong team to play Ospreys this Friday at Cardiff Arms Park (kick off 7.10pm).

Cardiff Blues are looking to record a double against the Ospreys this season having already beaten them before Christmas at Liberty Stadium.

Gethin Jenkins, Mike Phillips and Nick Robinson all return from the Welsh squad and are included in the starting fifteen. Rhys Thomas, Martyn Williams and Robert Sidoli could not be considered for selection.

“Obviously it’s a big game for us and we’re all looking forward to the match after a long period of inactivity. The Ospreys, I’m sure will be really hurting after our victory over them before Christmas and will be looking for revenge.

"We had a great performance that night but the Ospreys are still a good side and are not Celtic League Champions for nothing” Said David Young.

“Jonah Lomu has tweaked his hamstring so we didn’t want to risk him for this match and Andy Powell has stitches in."

Tickets are still on sale call 029 2030 2030 or buy online>>

Rhys Williams (c), Craig Morgan, Jamie Robinson, Marc Stcherbina, Chris Czekaj, Nick Robinson, Mike Phillips, Xavier Rush, Robin Sowden-Taylor, Maama Molitika, James Goode, Deiniol Jones, Gethin Jenkins, Duane Goodfield, John Yapp

Martin Jones, Ross Johnson, Craig Quinnell, Kort Schubert, Ryan Powell, Nick Macleod, Lee Thomas

Ospreys also welcome the return of some big names, with Gavin Henson and Shane Williams named in the starting fifteen.

Stefan Terblanche, Richard Mustoe, Sonny Parker, Gavin Henson, Shane Williams, Shaun Connor, Jason Spice, James Bater (Captain), Steve Tandy, Jonathan Thomas, Lyndon Bateman, Andrew Newman, Andrew Millward, Huw Bennett, Cai Griffiths

Richard Hibbard, Craig Mitchell, Ian Evans, Des Dillon, Martin Roberts, Matthew Jones, Andrew Bishop