Blog Banner

Blues quartet line up against France

19th February 2014

Cardiff Blues quartet Sam Warburton, Gethin Jenkins, Leigh Halfpenny and Alex Cuthbert have been named in the starting line-up for Wales to face France at the Millennium Stadium on Friday evening (kick-off 8pm).

Wales have made three changes to their side with Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Rhys Webb (Ospreys) and Liam Williams (Scarlets) named in the starting XV.

Charteris has recovered from the hamstring injury which ruled him out of the clash against Ireland and is the only change to the pack.

He will partner Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) in the second-row behind the experienced front-row of Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues) and Ospreys duo Richard Hibbard and Adam Jones.

The back-row remains unchanged with captain Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues) featuring alongside Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro) and Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).
Scrum-half Webb will make his first start for Wales and will line-up at half-back alongside Rhys Priestland (Scarlets).

Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro) and George North (Northampton Saints) make up the midfield, with North coming in off the wing to fill the centre berth vacated by the injured Scott Williams, and Liam Williams (Scarlets), joins Cardiff Blues pair Alex Cuthbert and Leigh Halfpenny in the back-three.

Scarlets forwards Ken Owens, Rhodri Jones and Jake Ball are named on the bench along with Paul James (Bath Rugby) and Justin Tipuric (Ospreys).  Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Dan Biggar (Ospreys) and James Hook (Perpignan) provide cover for the backs.

Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Liam Williams (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Richard Hibbard (Ospreys), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), Sam Warburton (CAPT – Cardiff Blues), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).
Replacements: Ken Owens (Scarlets), Paul James (Bath Rugby), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), James Hook (Perpignan).