Blog Banner

Blues name squad to face Edinburgh

2nd January 2008

Cardiff Blues have named a provisional squad of 26 ahead of their Magners League match against Edinburgh at the Arms Park on Friday 4 January 7.10pm kick off.

Speaking ahead of the match Cardiff Blues Director of Rugby David Young said, “I have got a lot of time for their Head Coach, Andy Robinson. He’s coached me on the Lions and is an extremely motivated and organised person as I’m sure his team will be.”

“We are still challenging in the league and putting pressure on the leaders Leinster. We were pleased to get the win against the Dragons and if we’d have won 11-6 and played well, I would have been happy. But the standards that we’ve set throughout the year have been higher than those shown on Boxing Day. We were very disappointed with our skill levels, accuracy and decision making that day.”

“We played better against the Ospreys but we still weren’t playing at our best. The Liberty Stadium is always a difficult place to go to and win so I don’t think it is a situation where we have blown the title race by losing. We are still challenging in the league and putting pressure on the leaders Leinster.”

Grandstand and terrace tickets for Juniors are priced at only £3.50 for the Edinburgh match and adults can also get bargain priced tickets for the match priced at just £10 for terrace tickets and £12.50 stand tickets - 1/3 off the usual price. The offer is valid until the day before the game. (5.00pm Thursday 3 January)

Victory for the Blues could see them return to the top of the league as the title chase heats up. At the half way stage in the league season there are just three points seperating the top four teams and Edinburgh could join this group of teams if they extend their winning run at the Arms Park.

Ben Blair
Gareth Thomas
Jamie Roberts
Jamie Robinson
Tom Shanklin
Dafydd Hewitt
Rhys Jones
Nick Macleod
Darren Allinson
Richie Rees
Jason Spice

Xavier Rush (c)
Mark Lewis
Andy Powell
Martyn Williams
Robin Sowden Taylor
Maama Molitika
Scott Morgan
Paul Tito
Deiniol Jones
Gary Powell
Taufa’ao Filise
Gethin Jenkins
John Yapp
Gareth Williams
T Rhys Thomas