Blog Banner

Amateur Blues v Ospreys Postponed

6th March 2006

The Amateur Blues were due to take on Ospreys tonight at Abercynon but the match has been postponed.

Following the Cardiff Blues 40-14 Celtic League win last Friday the Amateur Blues were aiming to match the result the professional team achieved. The game had already been moved from Pentyrch RFC to Abercynon RFC, but is now unplayable due to the conditions at Abercynon.

Having already beaten the Ospreys 22-15 at Dunvant RFC and Scarlets 19-8 at Stradey Park, the Blues Amateurs unbeaten run came to an end against a powerful Dragons outfit losing by 27 points to 13 on a wet and windy night at Beddau.

However a shock defeat for the Dragons against the Scarlets in Tenby recently, has kept the Amateur Blues still very much in the hunt for the title. Its the second game that has had to be cancelled so far in the tournament as an earlier fixture against north Wales was also postponed.

Amateur Blues Squad to play Ospreys
Gwyn Pengelly (Brecon), Jon Thurstin (Builth Wells), Rob Lloyd (Builth Wells), Dano Roberts (Ystrad Rhondda), Craig Allen (Cilfynydd), James Read (Ynysbwl), Rhys McCarthy (Fairwater), Gavin Close, (Rhydyfelin), Matthew Turner (Abercynon), Rob Saunders (Cowbridge)
Owen Cotton (Ynysbwl), Jon Watkins (UWIC), Dean lloyd (Tylorstown), Leigh Davies (Llanharan), Gareth Keetch (Cilfynydd), Andy McKeown (Fairwater), Wayne Morris (Builth Wells), Geraint Turner (Abercynon) (C), Jordan Aller (Llantwit Major), Steven Bullock (Llantwit Major), Mark Troake (Llandaff North), Dave Hefford (Abercynon), Rhys Watkins (Taffs Well), Ryan Savage (Mountain Ash)