Our Story

Cardiff Rugby were formed in 1876 and are one of four professional teams in Wales, currently competing in the United Rugby Championship and Heineken Champions Cup.

They are the professional arm of Cardiff Rugby Football Club, who also compete in the Indigo Group Welsh Premiership and can be traced back to the late 1800s.

The club was founded following an amalgamation between Cardiff Wanderers and the Glamorgan Football Club and the first game took place on December 2, 1876, against great rivals Newport RFC.

The club initially played in an all black strip adorned with a skull and crossbones but following complaints from parents the colours were changed to the familiar Cambridge blue and black - you can read more about the club’s famous colours here.

During the next 127 years, the Blue & Blacks became universally acknowledged as one of the world’s most famous and successful sides.

Cardiff have been credited for creating the modern three-quarter system, for which both they and the initiator, Frank Hancock, were inducted to the World Rugby Hall of Fame in 2010.

Playing at Cardiff Arms Park, they claimed victories over major touring teams, including Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, and achieved numerous national honours.

Cardiff also reached the inaugural European Cup final in 1996, where they slipped to an agonising extra time defeat to Toulouse.


With the advent of regional rugby in 2003, Cardiff was granted its own standalone team and the new professional side at Cardiff Arms Park initially played under the Cardiff Blues brand.

The region originally encompassed Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan but following the demise of the Celtic Warriors in 2004, proudly took on responsibility for a wider area that included Rhondda Cynon Taf, Merthyr and Powys.

Cardiff Rugby currently represents a region including five unitary authorities (Cardiff, RCT, Merthyr, Powys and the Vale of Glamorgan) and 76 clubs, including Cardiff, Merthyr and Pontypridd in the Principality Premiership.

Cardiff Rugby remains proud of its heritage as well as the wider area it now represents, the many renowned clubs within it and their own unique achievements.

During the regional era Cardiff Rugby have twice won the European Challenge Cup (2010 and 2018), plus the Anglo-Welsh Cup (2009), while Cardiff RFC have added an eighth Welsh Cup title.

Cardiff Rugby have supplied more Wales internationals and British & Irish Lions than any other team with Josh Adams and Josh Navidi included on the 2021 tour to South Africa.

Former greats of the game including Cliff Morgan, Bleddyn Williams, Gareth Edwards, Barry John, Terry Holmes, John Scott, Neil Jenkins, Jonah Lomu, Gethin Jenkins and Sam Warburton have all proudly worn the Blue and Black, while there are 23 internationals in the current squad.