Blog Banner

Williams and James return for Edinburgh

6th May 2016

Lloyd Williams and Tom James both return to the Cardiff Blues starting line-up as Danny Wilson changes three for Edinburgh.

The Wales duo missed last weekend’s Guinness PRO12 defeat to the Ospreys, with Williams sidelined due to injury and James following the birth of his first child.

But they both come straight back into the starting XV for the season finale and they are joined by Cam Dolan, who comes in for injured Sam Warburton.

As a result Josh Turnbull moves into the back-row, where he packs down with Ellis Jenkins and Josh Navidi.

The defeat to the Ospreys at the Principality Stadium brought an end to a four-match winning streak and ended the Blues’ hopes of a top six finish.

But Wilson has urged his side to finish the campaign on a high at Murrayfield.

He said: “It’s disappointing that after two good derby wins (Scarlets and Dragons) we lost the third.

“If you pick highs and lows from the season, the highs would be winning four derbies, the lows losing twice to the Ospreys.

“There’s plenty of good and we have put down a platform for next season but we certainly don’t want to go to Edinburgh and lose.

“We have had 10 wins this year versus five last season, we would like that to be 11 against Edinburgh to finish the season with a win and go into the next on a good run.”

Wales’ Capital Region edged to a victory over Edinburgh at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park earlier this season and hope the completion of a double would see them climb to seventh in the final standings.

Elsewhere Scott Andrews, Lou Reed and Macauley Cook come onto the replacements bench with Dillon Lewis, Jarrad Hoeata and Manoa Vosawai dropping out.

Cardiff Blues: 15 Dan Fish, 14 Aled Summerhill, 13 Garyn Smith, 12 Rey Lee-Lo, 11 Tom James, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Lloyd Williams; 1 Gethin Jenkins (c), 2 Matthew Rees, 3 Taufa'ao Filise, 4 Cam Dolan, 5 James Down, 6 Josh Turnbull, 7 Ellis Jenkins, 8 Josh Navidi

Replacements: 16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Brad Thyer, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Lou Reed, 20 Macauley Cook, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Jarrod Evans, 23 Gavin Evans