Blog Banner

Warburton and Jenkins to face France

24th February 2015

Cardiff Blues duo Sam Warburton and Gethin Jenkins have been named in a Wales side that features four changes to face France on Saturday - with George North, Samson Lee, Luke Charteris and Scott Baldwin all coming into the starting XV.

Charteris and Baldwin are promoted from replacement roles in the victory over Scotland to start in Paris whilst North and Lee return to the side after missing the second RSB 6 Nations encounter.

Baldwin and Lee join Jenkins to re-form the front-row that started in November’s victory against South Africa.

Charteris, who has featured from the bench in the opening two matches of the Championship, starts alongside Alun Wyn Jones.

The back-row remains unchanged with Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau lining up with captain Sam Warburton (who equals Ryan Jones’ record of 33 matches as captain of Wales).

Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar continue their partnership at half-back with Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies named in the midfield.

North comes into the back-three to join Liam Williams and Leigh Halfpenny.
Richard Hibbard, Paul James and Aaron Jarvis are named as the front-row contingent on the bench with Bradley Davies and Justin Tipuric completing the forwards.  Mike Phillips, Rhys Priestland and Scott Williams will provide the backline cover.
Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon), George North (Northampton Saints), Jonathan Davies (ASM Clermont Auvergne), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Liam Williams (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Richard Hibbard (Gloucester), Paul James (Bath), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets).