Blog Banner

Tricky Start for Champions Beddau In Season Opener

9th July 2007

Reigning champions Beddau will kick-off the defence of their WRU National League Division 1 East title against the only team to beat them at their Castellau Road ground last season, Llanharan.

Beddau will have home advantage on the opening day of the new season, Saturday, 1 September, but will be well aware of the dangers Llanharan, who finished eighth in the table, can pose following their 32-12 defeat by them on 30 December, 2006.

With neither Beddau nor Bonymaen gaining promotion to the Principality Premiership next season they will be the teams to beat at the top end of the 19 strong National League playing pyramid that will involve 227 clubs.

Joining Beddau in Division 1 East will be Llantrisant and Rumney, the top two teams from Division 2 East last season. Llantrisant gained promotion with a 100 per cent record as they won all 22 league fixtures, while it will be a return to the top division for runners-up Rumney.

Moving into Division 2 East are Llanishen, runners-up in Division 3 South East last season, Penallta, champions of Division 3 East, and Newport HSOB, who were nine points adrift of the top as runners-up in Division 3 East. Llanishen will start away from home at Ynysybwl, while WRU Probationers Penallta will host Treherbert and Newport HSOB will entertain relegated Abercynon.

Division 2 East will have three of the relegated teams from the two Division 1 leagues last season - Abercynon, Builth Wells ands Ystrad Rhondda.

North Wales-based Llangefni will return to their roots next season despite finishing as runners-up in Division 3 West. They will join newly promoted Dolgellau and Llanidloes in Division 4 North.

Every league down to Division 4 will have 12 teams next season, while Divisions 5 East, West, North, South East and South West will have 11. There will be 227 teams playing in the WRU National League system next season with the final round of matches scheduled for 26 April, 2008.


Relegated: Abercynon, Builth Wells, Ystrad Rhondda to 2 East; Loughor to 2 West

Promoted: Llantrisant, Rumney to 1 East; Corus, Tonmawr to 1 West
Relegated: Abergavenny, Croesyceiliog to 3 East; Llantwit Fardre to 3 South East; Maesteg Quins, Seven Sisters, Tonna to 3 South West
Moved: Nantymoel to 2 West

Promoted: Llanishen, Newport HSOB, Penallta to 2 East; Mumbles, Pencoed, Tumble to 2 West
Relegated: Abercarn, Brynithel to 4 East; Pentyrch to 4 South East; Pontarddulais, Trimsaran to 4 West; Brynamman, Bryncoch, Hirwaun to 4 South West
Moved: Nelson to 3 East; Heol y Cyw to 3 South East; Amman United, Cwmgors to 3 West; Llangefni to 4 North

Promoted: Garndiffaith to 3 East; Bedlinog, Old Illtydians, Penarth to 3 South East; Cardigan, Llanybydder to 3 West; BP Llandarcy, Briton Ferry to 3 South West
Relegated: Crumlin, Trinant to 5 East; Cowbridge, Porth to 5 South East; Burry Port to 5 West; Alltwen, New Dock Stars, Trebanos to 5 South West; Pwllheli, Wrexham to 5 North
Moved: Llandaff North, Llantwit Major to 4 South East; Birchgrove to 4 West

Promoted: Abertillery BG, Gwernyfed, Rhiwbina to 4 East; Ferndale to 4 South East; Tycroes to 4 West; Glyncorrwg, Maesteg Celtic, Neath Athletic to 4 South West; Dolgellau, Llanidloes to 4 North
Moved: Ogmore Vale to 5 South East; Bynea to 5 South West; Crynant, Cwmgwrach, Rhigos to 5 South Central