Blog Banner

Three Cardiff Blues named in Wales Women squad

17th January 2018

Three members of the Cardiff Blues Women side have been named in the Wales Women squad for the upcoming Six Nations campaign.

The trio includes Rhiannon Parker, who was named Cardiff Blues Women's Player of the Season in 2016/17. 

Awen Prysor and Hannah Bluck are also named and are amongst the ten potential debutants included in Rowland Phillips' squad.

Phillips has also named a development team of six players, which includes Cardiff Blues' Katie Jenkins.

Each player in the squad has been part of Wales Women’s One Programme (dovetailing fifteens and sevens) for the past two months – with the exception of flanker Prysor, who impressed the coaches with her regional performances for Cardiff Blues.

Head coach, Phillips, said: “The younger players have played the game a lot longer now. We’re seeing 18-year-olds who have played rugby for the past six or seven years, where in previous years they might have converted from different sports or taken up the game from an older age. It reflects the growth of the game in Wales.

“The exciting thing for us as coaches is that we’re identifying players outside of this squad who we can see have great potential, whether that’s at regional U18 or regional senior level. Those youngsters are allowing us to forward plan as we build towards the 2021 World Cup."

Wales Women's campaign gets underway on Friday, February 2, as they welcome Scotland to Stadiwm Zip World, Colwyn Bay (KO 6.00pm) which is part of a double-header alongside the corresponding Under-20's fixture.

Wales Women’s Six Nations Squad:

Forwards: Alisha Butchers (Scarlets), Amy Evans (Ospreys), Amy Thomas (Ospreys), Awen Prysor* (Cardiff Blues), Beth Lewis* (Scarlets), Cara Hope* (Ospreys), Caryl Thomas (Scarlets), Carys Phillips (c) (Ospreys), Cerys Hale (Dragons), Gwenllian Pyrs (RGC), Kelsey Jones (Ospreys), Meg York (Dragons), Mel Clay (Ospreys), Natalia John* (Ospreys), Nia Elen Davies (Scarlets), Shona Powell-Hughes (Ospreys), Sioned Harries (Scarlets), Siwan Lillicrap (Ospreys). 

Backs: Alecs Donovan* (Ospreys), Angharad Desmet (Scarlets), Elinor Snowsill (Dragons), Ffion Lewis* (Scarlets), Gemma Rowland (Dragons), Hannah Bluck* (Cardiff Blues), Hannah Jones (Scarlets), Jade Knight* (Scarlets), Jasmine Joyce (Scarlets), Jessica Kavanagh-Williams (RGC), Jodie Evans (Scarlets), Kerin Lake (Ospreys), Lisa Neumann (Scarlets), Lleucu George (Scarlets), Rebecca De Filippo (Dragons), Rhiannon Nokes (Ospreys), Rhiannon Parker (Cardiff Blues), Robyn Wilkins (Ospreys). 

Development Players: Amy Morgan (Scarlets), India Berbillion (Dragons), Katie Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Katie Thicker (Scarlets), Liliana Podpadec (Dragons), Teleri Davies (RGC).