Blog Banner

Three Blues To Start For Wales Against Argentina

14th June 2006

Mike Phillips and Robinson brothers, Jamie and Nicky, all keep their place in Wales' starting fifteen for the second Test against Argentina in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

There are four changes in the match twenty two squad, two in the starting line-up and two on the bench.

"We have asked this team to maintain the high standards set last week, add an extra dimension to their play, and prove they are capable of beating this Argentinean team." said Wales coach Gareth Jenkins.

Wales have never lost a full Test series in Argentina. A 2-0 series win for Graham Henry's Wales in 1999 was the first time a British or Irish side had won a series in the country.

The two-Test series between the countries in 2004 was shared as Wales recovered from a first Test defeat to win the second in Buenos Aires

Wales: L Byrne (Ospreys); M Jones (Scarlets), J Robinson (Blues), J Hook (Ospreys), S Williams (Ospreys); N Robinson (Blues), M Phillips (Blues); D Jones (Ospreys, capt), H Bennett (Ospreys), A Jones (Ospreys), I Evans (Ospreys), I Gough (Dragons), A Wyn Jones (Ospreys), G Thomas (Scarlets), A Popham (Scarlets).
Replacements: M Watkins (Scarlets), N Brew (Dragons), A Williams (Bath), J Yapp (Blues), R Thomas (Dragons), R Hibbard (Ospreys), G Delve (Bath).

Referee: Dave Pearson (England)