Blog Banner

Six Cardiff stars set for South Africa

International | 18th May 2022

Six Cardiff stars have been named in Wales' squad for the Summer Tour to South Africa.

Blue and Blacks number eight James Ratti is one of two uncapped players named in Wayne Pivac's 33-player squad ahead of the three-Test series against world champions, Springboks.

The 24-year-old, who was also included in the squad for the 2022 Guinness Six Nations campaign, is joined in the squad by Leicester Tigers' Tommy Reffell, who will also be in the hunt for a first Test cap.

Elsewhere, prop duo Dillon Lewis and Rhys Carré are named amongst the front row contingent, while Josh Navidi is included as a back row option.

Tomos Williams and Josh Adams, who have missed the latter part of the club season, are included as they continue their recovery from hand and knee injuries respectively.

There is no place for Seb Davies, Ellis Jenkins or Rhys Priestland, who all featured in the Six Nations squad, while Uilisi Halaholo misses out through injury.

Also included are Liam Williams and Taulupe Faletau, who will arrive at Cardiff Arms Park over the summer from Scarlets and Bath Rugby respectively.

Rhys Patchell, Alex Cuthbert and Louis Rees-Zammit were all developed through the Blue and Blacks' pathway system and now ply their trade elsewhere.

Wales get the Test series underway in Pretoria on July 2, before heading to Bloemfontein and Cape Town.


Forwards (19)
Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby – 16 caps)
Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 43 caps)
Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 10 caps)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 27 caps)
Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 5 caps)
Sam Parry (Ospreys – 5 caps)
Leon Brown (Dragons – 22 caps)
Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 64 caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 38 caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys – 34 caps)
Ben Carter (Dragons – 6 caps)
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 150 caps)
Will Rowlands (Dragons – 18 caps)
Taine Basham (Dragons – 10 caps)
Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby – 89 caps)
Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 65 caps)
Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby – 30 caps)
James Ratti (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)
Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – uncapped)

Backs (14)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets – 67 caps)
Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 11 caps)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 33 caps)
Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 31 caps)
Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints – 100 caps) Captain
Rhys Patchell (Scarlets – 21 caps)
George North (Ospreys – 102 caps)
Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 20 caps)
Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 31 caps)
Johnny Williams (Scarlets – 5 caps
Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 39 caps)
Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 51 caps)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 16 caps)
Liam Williams (Scarlets – 78 caps)

Players unavailable for selection due to injury:
Ken Owens, Justin Tipuric, Ross Moriarty, Christ Tshiunza, Aaron Wainwright, Uilisi Halaholo, Leigh Halfpenny, Johnny McNicholl


Sat 02/07/22
South Africa v Wales – 1st Test, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 16.05h (Sky Sports)

Sat 09/07/22
South Africa v Wales – 2nd Test, Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein 16.05h (Sky Sports)

Sat 16/07/22
South Africa v Wales – 3rd Test, DHL Stadium, Cape Town 16.05h (Sky Sports)