Blog Banner

Six Cardiff Blues named in Wales U20s squad

18th January 2018

Six Cardiff Blues representatives have been named in Jason Strange's Wales Under-20's squad for the upcoming Six Nations Championship.

Four Cardiff Blues academy members are named in the forwards, as Rhys Carre and James Botham make a return to the set-up, having featured during last summer's U20's World Championship in Georgia.

Hooker Iestyn Harris and back row Alun Lawrence are also included amongst the forwards, with Ben Jones and Ben Thomas named in the backs.

Dane Blacker is unavailable for the Championship as a result of being sidelined with injury.

The announcement comes after six Cardiff Blues stars were named in the senior Wales squad on Tuesday, while three of Cardiff Blues' Women side were also called up for international action.

Cardiff Blues have a rich history of supplying players for the Under-20's age grade sides, with 13 members named for last summer's U20's World Championships.

The likes of Ellis Jenkins, Macauley Cook and Josh Navidi have also captained the side in past, before becoming key members of the Cardiff Blues squad.

Wales U20 Six Nations squad:

Forwards: Taine Basham (Dragons), James Botham (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues), Dan Davies (Scarlets), Rhys Davies (Bath), Lennon Greggains (Dragons), Will Griffiths (Dragons), Iestyn Harris (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Henry (Ospreys), Morgan Jones (Scarlets), Will Jones (Ospreys), Dewi Lake (Ospreys), Alun Lawrence (Cardiff Blues), Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), Morgan Morris (Ospreys), Jack Pope (Bridgend), Tommy Reffell (Leicester), Josh Reynolds (Dragons), Sam Wainwright (RGC), Max Williams (Dragons).

Backs: Dan Babos (Dragons), Corey Baldwin (Scarlets), Callum Carson (Ospreys), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Cai Evans (Ospreys), Joe Goodchild (Dragons), Aaron Hemmings (Scarlets), Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys), Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets), Carwyn Penny (Gloucester), Tommy Rogers (Scarlets), Ben Thomas (Cardiff Blues).