Blog Banner

Six Blues set for England U18 challenge

21st March 2014

Six Cardiff Blues players will feature for Wales Under-18s against England Under-18s on Sunday at The Gnoll (kick-off 1.45pm).

Head coach Allan Lewis has made three changes in his starting line-up and includes James Whittingham (Blues/Cowbridge), Michael Hale (Blues/Glantaf/St Josephs), Liam Belcher (Blues/Coleg y Cymoedd/Pontypridd) and Jordan Viggers (Blues/St David's/St Peter's) from Blues.
Keiron Assirratti (Blues/Coleg y Cymoedd/Wattstown) and Seb Davies (Blues/Coleg y Cymoedd/Pentyrch) are named among the replacements.

Lewis said: "It is always a thrill to play against England at age grade level. They are always extremely well prepared and will undoubtedly pose a considerable threat up front and to our defensive structures.

"We are happy with our preparations for this game, with tough games against Leicester Academy and France last weekend. It was bitterly disappointing to come so close to beating France but missing out in the end, but it is only through playing games like that, and this one against England, that we learn as individuals and as a team.

"We are committed to our policy of challenging the opposition with the ball in hand and it was particularly pleasing to record wins over Australian Schools A and Australian Schools in the autumn with that style of rugby as it shows that it not only helps develop players' skill levels but is an effective game plan in its own right when executed well.

"We have a number of new players to the squad following those games and after Sunday's game we will finalise our squad for the FIRA-AER Under 18 European Championships in Poland over Easter."

Wales team v England (Sunday 23 March, The Gnoll, 1.45pm):

Morgan Williams (RGC/ Coleg Llandrillo / Caernarfon); Rhys Gealy (Ospreys / YG Gwyr / Pontarddulais), James Whittingham (Blues / Cowbridge), Owen Watkin (Ospreys / Bridgend College / Bryncethin), Lloyd Lewis (Dragons / Ysgol Gwynllyw); Daniel Jones (Scarlets / Coleg Sir Gar / Carmarthen Quins), Michael Hale (Blues / Glantaf / St Josephs); Keagan Bale (Dragons/ Coleg Gwent / Caerleon), Liam Belcher (Blues/ Coleg y Cymoedd / Pontypridd), Leon Brown (Dragons/ Newport High), Joe Davies (Dragons/ Newport High/ Bedwas), Matthew Dodd (Ospreys / Olchfa / Dunvant), Tom Phillips (capt,Scarlets / Coleg Sir Gar / Llangennech) Jordan Viggers (Blues/ St David's/ St Peter's), Jon Fox (Ospreys/ Gower College / Swansea),
Replacements: Dafydd Hughes (Scarlets / Llandovery College / Llandovery), Harrison Walsh (Ospreys / Bishopgore / Mumbles), Keiron Assirratti (Blues/ Coleg y Cymoedd/ Wattstown), Seb Davies (Blues / Coleg y Cymoedd / Pentyrch), Josh Cole (Ospreys / Neath Port Talbot College  / Tonmawr) , Josh Middleton (Scarlets / Coleg Sir Gar / Kidwelly), Kieran Hardy (Scarlets / Coleg Sir Gar / Pontyberem), Luke Price (Ospreys/ Maesydderwen/ Swansea)