Blog Banner

Premiership Select side to face Welsh

20th November 2015

Full back Aled Summerhill and second row Cam Dolan are among the players called into the starting line-up for the Cardiff Blues Premiership Select as they face London Welsh in the British & Irish Cup at Old Deer Park on Saturday afternoon (2pm kick-off).

Head Coach Richard Hodges makes a number of changes to the side that drew 20-20 with Nottingham in the opening pool match at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park.

Summerhill is named in the No.15 jersey while Cardiff RFC centre Will Rees-Hole is called up to partner Wales Under-20 star Garyn Smith in midfield. While Owen Lane, who recently signed an Academy contract at Cardiff Blues, features on the wing.

Scott Andrews gets a start at tight-head prop while Miles Normandale is named in the second row to partner with Chris Dicomidis. American ace Dolan, who returns to full fitness starts at 6 and is joined in the back row by Joe Tomlinson and James Sheekey.

Chris Williams, Jordan Viggers and Joe Jones are among the new faces among the replacements.

Head Coach Hodges said: “We’re looking forward to the London Welsh fixture and renewing some old rivalries at Old Deer Park.

“Last weekend’s game against Nottingham was dominated by the weather conditions so we are hoping for some better conditions to play the style of rugby we want to adopt in the cup competition.

“London Welsh will be aiming to bounce back from defeat to Cornish Pirates and were recently playing in the top-flight in England so we are aware of the challenge we will face in London.

“However, I’ve been really pleased by the enthusiasm and desire to improve in training this week and so we travel keen to secure our first win in the B&I Cup this season.”

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select: 15 Aled Summerhill, 14 Owen Lane, 13 Garyn Smith, 12 Will Rees-Hole, 11 Geraint  Walsh, 10 Gareth Davies, 9 Lewis Jones; 1 Thomas Davies, 2 Joe Tomlinson, 3 Scott Andrews , 4 Miles Normandale  5 Chris Dicomidis, 6 Cameron Dolan ,7 Jevon Groves (c), 8 James Sheekey

Replacements: 16 Bradley Thyer, 17 Joe Jones, 18 Shane Lewis Hughes, 19 Jordan Viggers, 20 Chris Williams, 21 James Thomas, 22 Harry Davies