Blog Banner

Powys Annual Sports Personality Awards

25th March 2008

Cardiff Blues forwards, Bradley Davies and Ross Johnson, were the special guests of Brecknockshire and Radnorshire District Sports Council's Annual Sports Personality Awards.

More than 250 people attended the evening which was organised by Powys County Council's Sports Development Unit.
Local sporting achievements were celebrated with 58 nomintations received for awards including, Services to Sport, Dragon Sport Volunteers, Coach of the Year:
Junior Team of the Year, Team of the Year, Disabled Junior Sports Personality: Disabled Sports Personality, Junior Sports Personality U16’s, Junior Sports Personality U18’s, Sports Personality of the Year.
Sports Development Officer, Helen Davies; "It is wonderful to see how much sporting talent there is out there, Powys should be proud that it has such talented individuals. The ammount of sport men and women we have representing Wales and Great Britain is phemoninal.
The panel had a very difficult time in deciding the winners and runners up as the standard was the highest yet.
It was also great to have our two guests from the Cardiff Blues, Bradley Davies and Ross Johnson, who presented some of the awards.

The awards seem to be getting bigger each year, and we can not wait untill next years ceremony”

The Winners Were As Follows:

Services to Sport:
Chris Holt
Brenda Jones
David Minton
Tony Price
Eddie Williams

Dragon Sport Volunteers:
Steve Anderson
Karen Davies
Daniel Jones
James Jones
Coach of the Year:
Winner – Kevin Skyrme
Runner Up – Mathew Tanner
Third Place - Jonathan Nash

Junior Team of the Year:
Winners – Llanfaes CP School Hockey Team
Runers Up – Crickhowell Panthers
Third Place – Dodgers Netball Team

Team of the Year:
Winners – Simon Dangerfield and David Hemmingway.
Runners Up – Hay St Mary’s FC
Third Place – Llandrindod RFC

Disabled Junior Sports Personality:
Winner – Daniel Lucker (Wheelchair racing and athletics)
Runner Up – Ashleigh Harris (Cricket)
Third Place – Danny Percy (Cricket)

Disabled Sports Personality:
Winner – Rob Davies
Runner Up – Lyn Thomas

Outstanding Achiement Award:
Alex Walton – Motor Cross.

Junior Sports Personality U16’s:
Winner – Emily (Hockey)
Runner Up – Natalie Powell (Judo)
Third Place- Kirsty Hardwick (Football)

Sports Personality of the Year:
Winner – Stephen Abberley (Judo)
Runner Up – Jessica Allen (Cycling)
Third Place – Hannah Jenkins (Golf)