Blog Banner

Phillips and Blair in Magners League Dream Team

11th May 2007

Full-back Ben Blair and Scrum-half Mike Phillips have been on fine form for the Blues this season and were voted on to the team by rugby journalists across Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Maurice Breen, Marketing Director for Wm Magner commented, "We are delighted to announce the inaugural Magners League Dream Team today. There has been some fantastic rugby played throughout the Magners League this season and the competitiveness of the teams has been one of the major talking points amongst both fans and pundits. The fact that there are still three teams in the running as we head into the final weekend of fixtures proves just how much of a close-run competition the Magners League has become."

Celtic Rugby Director, David Jordan said, "The Magners League Dream Team perfectly illustrates the quality and strength of players within the Magners League. This season has seen the Magners League continue to grow, with average attendances up yet again year on year and more and more teams competing in front of sell-out crowds. Strong performances from Magners League teams in this years' European Cup have also added to the growing reputation of the Magners League within the greater rugby community. "

The 2007 Magners League Dream Team:
15 Ben Blair (Cardiff Blues)
14 Denis Hickie (Leinster Rugby)
13 Regan King (Llanelli Scarlets)
12 Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster Rugby)
11 Shane Williams (Ospreys)
10 Felipe Contepomi (Leinster Rugby)
9 Mike Phillips (Cardiff Blues)
8 Jamie Heaslip (Leinster Rugby)
7 Colin Charvis (Newport Gwent Dragons)
6 Simon Easterby (Llanelli Scarlets)
5 Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)
4 Justin Harrison (Ulster)
3 Euan Murray (Glasgow Warriors)
2 Matthew Rees (Llanelli Scarlets)
1 Iestyn Thomas (Llanelli Scarlets)