Blog Banner

Owen Lane scoops Peter Thomas Player of the Year

Age Grade & Academy | 9th May 2019

Owen Lane scooped the top prize at the 2018-19 Cardiff Blues End of Season awards after racking up 11 tries in a stunning individual campaign.

The young wing succeeded Nick Williams as he claimed the Peter Thomas Player of the Season award, sponsored by Dragon Signs, at a glittering ceremony at Cardiff and Vale College.

After an impressive breakthrough season in 2017-18, which saw him win Discovery of the Season, the Cardiff-born ace has continued his rapid progression with 11 tries in 18 appearances, and a hand in several more.

He was nominated as the Energia Next-Gen Star of the Season at the recent Guinness PRO14 awards and has been included in Warren Gatland’s World Cup training squad.


Head coach John Mulvihill said: “Owen has made his presence felt in every game this season and has produced some big moments in key games.

“Earlier in the season we spoke to him and told him he needed to back himself more and he has taken that on board and barely looked back as he’s taken his game to the next level.

“He has had an outstanding season and is still a young man with a very big future ahead of him. We wish him all the best as he begins preparations for the World Cup.”

Olly Robinson clinched the Players’ Player of the Season award in association with HeatForce.

The flanker recently won the PRO14 Big Red Turnover King after dominating breakdowns with 26 turnovers throughout the Championship season and got the nod from his peers.

Mulvihill continued: “Olly has been one of our most consistent players and is the ultimate professional. He has superbly filled the boots of Ellis Jenkins and Josh Navidi and continually produced big performances

“To receive this accolade from his fellow players is thoroughly deserved.”

Jason Harries was named Land Rover Discovery of the Season after making 17 appearances and scoring six tries in his first campaign at the Arms Park.

Mulvihill added: “Jason arrived in really good shape and was one of the most impressive players throughout pre-season. He took that into the first 13 games of the season, where he provided a physical presence on the wing, with a lot of line breaks and strong finishing.

“His season was disrupted by injury but in his first game back he scored two tries and produced another in a great win over Edinburgh and remained in that first team squad.”

Stalwart Gethin Jenkins, who announced his retirement earlier this season, was given the Special Recognition award, following in the footsteps of fellow front-row Taufa'ao Filise.

Peter Thomas and Sir Gareth Edwards were honoured for their services to Cardiff RFC and Cardiff Blues, and there was a moment to reflect on Wales' Grand Slam efforts, with seven Cardiff Blues players included in the squad.

Ben Thomas came out on top of a highly-competitive shortlist for Academy Player of the Season. The playmaker has been a key figure in Cardiff RFC’s season, capping off an impressive campaign by scoring a try in the National Cup final victory over Merthyr at Principality Stadium.

Matthew Morgan’s sensational individual score in the Heineken Champions Cup clash against Saracens was voted the Try of the Season. 

A panel of Ellis Jenkins, Sam Warburton and John Mulvihill deemed Josh Turnbull bone-crunching hit on Scarlets’ Paul Asquith as the worthy winner of the inaugural Hit of the Season award.

Teenage Wales star, Manon Johnes, was named Women’s Player of the Year, with Bryonie King picking up the under-18 equivalent.

Off-the-field, employees Matthew Jones (facilities co-ordinator) and Tony Kocker (team chef) were acknowledged for their hard work over the campaign.

It was also an opportunity to celebrate the very best of the region’s thriving community rugby, with Roy Wilkinson awarded the Outstanding Contribution to Community Rugby for his commitment and work to Mid District Rugby Union.

Craig Enticott was named Young Leader of the Season, for his work with Gilfach Goch RFC, where he regularly coaches and referees.

Capital Girls’ Laura Davies was handed the Club Recognition award, with Seimon Edwards of Cardiff Schools and Ysgol Plasmawr earning the School Recognition award.


The Peter Thomas Player of the Season (sponsored by Dragons Signs): Owen Lane

Nominees: Rey Lee-Lo, Olly Robinson, Nick Williams


Players’ Player of the Season (Heatforce): Olly Robinson

Nominees: Jarrod Evans, Rey Lee-Lo, Nick Williams


Cardiff Blues Special Recoginition Award (Evans Pharmacy): Gethin Jenkins


Discovery of the Season (Land Rover): Jason Harries

Nominees: Liam Belcher, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Harri Millard


Academy Player of the Season (High Motive): Ben Thomas

Nominees: Ioan Davies, Alun Lawrence, Max Llewellyn


Try of the Season (Genero): Matthew Morgan v Saracens

Nominees: Owen Lane v Lyon, Garyn Smith v Glasgow Warriors, Gareth Anscombe v Ospreys


Hit of the Season (Aspen Waite): Josh Turnbull v Scarlets

Nominees: Garyn Smith v Glasgow Warriors, Nick Williams v Munster, Ethan Lewis v Glasgow Warriors


Cardiff Blues Office Employee of the Season (Heineken): Matthew Jones


Cardiff Blues Rugby Employee of the Season (Tiger Tiger): Tony Kocker


Women’s Player of the Season (Renishaw): Manon Johnes


Women’s under-18 Player of the Season (Wheadon’s): Bryonie King


Club Recognition Award (Event Mobile Catering): Laura Davies


School Recognition Award (Princes Gate): Seimon Edwards


Young Leader Award (Cardiff and Vale College): Craig Enticott


Outstanding Contribution to Community Rugby Award (Route Media): Roy Wilkinson