Blog Banner

Nottingham Rugby 19 CBPS 10

22nd January 2016

Wing Elis-Wyn Benham grabbed another British & Irish Cup try as Cardiff Blues Premiership Select (CBPS) were defeated by Nottingham Rugby in the final pool game at Ladybay on Friday evening.

Wales Under-20 ace Benham went over for a second half try – for his third score in two games - as CBPS looked to rally from a 12-0 half-time deficit in England.

But despite his score and a late effort from replacement Nick Griffiths it was the English Championship side that claimed the victory.

The CBPS coaching team named a team with a mix of youth and experience as they looked to finish the cup campaign on a high note.

A tight and evenly fought contest was scoreless after the opening quarter with home fly half William Millett striking a post with a penalty attempt.

The home side struck first when lock Rupert Cooper went over on 23 minutes and just before the break they extended the lead when centre Heath Stevens charged down a clearance and scored.

The CBPS applied late pressure in the half but could find no way over. However, five minutes into the second period more attacks paid off as Benham ran clear down the left to score. Fly-half Jarrod Evans couldn't add the extras as his kick, on a difficult surface, dropped just short.

The comeback was dented, though, as the Green and Whites added a third try 15 minutes into the second period through skipper Matt Everard.

Millett converted to give Nottingham a 19-5 advantage, but despite the scoreline the CBPS fought back once more and enjoyed late pressure as they rallied and looked for a way back into the game.

Home prop Harry Morley sent to the sin bin by referee Frank Murphy, but the Greens' defence stood strong until a late try through replacement Nick Griffiths cut the lead to nine.

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select: 15 Callum Hall, 14 Teri Morgan Gee, 13 Richard Smith, 12 Harri Millard, 11 Elis-Wyn Benham, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Lewis Jones (T Williams 19); 1 Brad Thyer (Tomlinson 59), 2 Ashleigh James (Domachowski 59), 3 Craig Mitchell (Assiratti 59), 4 Jevon Groves, 5 Chris Dicomidis , 6 Shane Lewis-Hughes (Normandale 44), 7 Morgan Sienawski  (Bradbury 69), 8 James Sheekey

Replacements: 16 Joe Tomlinson, 17 Corey Domachowski, 18 Kieron Assiratti, 19 Miles Normandale, 20 Calum Bradbury, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Nick Griffiths