Blog Banner

Martyn and Tom Return for the Blues

5th October 2005

British Lions Tom Shanklin and Martyn Williams have both been picked in the starting fifteen for the Blues Powergen Cup tie against London Wasps on Friday.

The Blues got off to a flying start in the competition last weekend with a 37-20 win over Saracens at the Arms Park. New signing Xavier Rush and Martyn Williams both made their first starts of the season from the subs bench and have been named alongside star performer Andy Powell in the back row for Friday's game.

Ryan Powell also comes in to the team instead of Mike Phillips and Martin Jones takes over from Ben Evans in the front row. Duane Goodfield continues at Hooker following his impressive debut in the first round and Craig Quinnell drops to the replacements with Deiniol Jones in his place.

The Blues face a tough test against a Wasps team currently unbeaten in the league and cup.

Director of Coaching David Young said,
"Tom Shanklin is an attacking weapon for us and he gives us a real cutting edge,"

"He showed with the Lions how good a player he is. He would be a boost for any side and we're no different."

Rhys Thomas has been ruled out for a month after a cartilage operation and Gareth Williams has a hamstring injury that will keep him out for another week.

Rhys Williams, Chris Czekaj, Jamie Robinson, Tom Shanklin, Craig Morgan, Nick Robinson, Ryan Powell, John Yapp, Duane Goodfield, Martin Jones, Deiniol Jones, Robert Sidoli, Andy Powell, Martyn Williams, Xavier Rush

Ben Evans, Ross Johnson, Craig Quinnell, Maama Molitika, Robin Sowden Taylor, Mike Phillips, Lee Thomas

The BBC reported earlier this week that Lawrence Dallaglio is ready to return to action this Friday for the clash against Cardiff Blues. Having been injured on the Lions tour, initial reports anticipated he would be out for 6 months.

Cardiff offers the latest syndicated news stories from the BBC on the home page. Use this service to keep up to date with all the breaking news.

The Wasps team to face Cardiff Blues are:

Team: Tom Voyce, Paul Sackey, Fraser Waters, Stuart Abbott, Josh Lewsey, Alex King, Matt Dawson, Peter Bracken, Ben Gotting, Jon Dawson, John Hart, Richard Birkett, Joe Worsley, Jonny O'Connor, Lawrence Dallaglio (c)

Replacements: Raphael Ibanez, Tim Payne, Simon Shaw, Mark Lock, Eoin Reddan, James Brooks, Mark Van Gisbergen