Blog Banner

Leigh Halfpenny named in Lions team

3rd June 2013

Warren Gatland has named a considerably restructured team for the second match of the Lions tour against Western Force, following their 59-8 win over the Barbarians in Hong Kong

Five of the starting team, Manu Tuilagi - who partners O'Driscoll in midfield - Sean O'Brien, Ian Evans, Dan Cole and Rory Best, will be making their Lions debuts, while six of the starting team are backing up having played off the bench against the Barbarians.

Brain O'Driscoll is joined in the starting XV by seven of his countrymen, with Tommy Bowe picked on the right wing, Jonathan Sexton and Conor Murray combining as halfbacks, Cian Healy and Best packing down in the front row and O'Brien and Jamie Heaslip named at openside flanker and No8 respectively.

Leigh Halfpenny and George North complete the backline at full back and left wing, while debutant Dan Cole starts at tight-head prop, with Ospreys duo Ian Evans and Alun Wyn Jones chosen in the second row and Tom Croft included at blindside flank.

Supporters, sponsors and companies can enjoy these midweek matches at the iconic Arms Park, either in their own hospitality box or in the Gareth Edwards Lounge.

There are two packages available :

- Access to the Gareth Edwards lounge
- Match being played on the big screen
- A breakfast buffet
£10 pp

- A private hospitality suite
- Match played live
- A breakfast buffet
- Post match teas and coffee
£15 pp

For further information please contact event team on 029 20302015 or email [email protected]

British & Irish Lions v Western Force, June 5, 11am kick off
15. Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
14. Tommy Bowe (Ulster/Ireland)
13. Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster/Ireland, captain)
12. Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers/England)
11. George North (Scarlets/Wales)
10. Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/Ireland)
9. Conor Murray (Munster/Ireland)
1. Cian Healy (Leinster/Ireland)
2. Rory Best (Ulster/Ireland)
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers/England)
4. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
5. Ian Evans (Ospreys/Wales)
6. Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers/England)
7. Sean O'Brien (Leinster/Ireland)
8. Jamie Heaslip (Leinster/Ireland)

16. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers/England)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens/England)
18. Matt Stevens (Saracens/England)
19. Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers/England)
20. Toby Faletau (Dragons/Wales)
21. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers/England)
22. Owen Farrell (Saracens/England)
23. Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors/Scotland)