Blog Banner

Lee-Lo and Scully set to go head-to-head in San Sebastian

9th November 2018

Cardiff Blues duo, Rey Lee-Lo and Blaine Scully, are set to go head-to-head on the international stage, as Samoa and USA clash in San Sebastian on Saturday.

Both Lee-Lo and Scully have been named in their side's starting line-ups for the autumn international encounter, which is being played down the road from Cardiff Blues' Challenge Cup final triumph last season.

The game will be held at Estadio Anoeta, the home of La Liga football side, Real Sociedad, with the sides set to face each other for the first time since the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

Lee-Lo is paired with Bristol Bears' Alapati Leiua in the Samoan midfield, while former Cardiff Blues lock, Filo Paulo, is also included in the starting line-up.

Scully returns from a larynx injury to captain his nation, winning his 41st international cap. A former Cardiff Blues forward also features in the Eagles' pack, in the form of Cam Dolan, who now plays for New Orelans in Major League Rugby.

Gary Gold's side will travel to Bucharest next week, where they take on Romania, before their autumn campaign comes to an end in Dublin, with a clash against Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday, November 24.

USA to face Samoa: Blaine Scully (Cardiff Blues, capt.); Gannon Moore (North Harbour Rugby), Bryce Campbell (London Irish), Paul Lasike (Harlequins), Ryan Matyas (San Diego Legion); Will Hooley (Bedford Blues), Ruben de Haas (Free State Cheetahs); Titi Lamositele (Saracens), Joe Taufete'e (Worcester Warriors), Paul Mullen (Newcastle Falcons), Greg Peterson (Glasgow Warriors), Nick Civetta (Doncaster Knights), John Quill (Glendale Raptors), Tony Lamborn (Rugby Southland), Cam Dolan (NOLA Gold)

Replacements: Dylan Fawsitt (Rugby United New York), David Ainuu (Toulouse), Dino Waldren (London Scottish), David Tameilau (Glasgow Warriors), Hanco Germishuys (unattached), Devereaux Ferris (Life West Gladiators), Will Magie (Glendale Raptors), Tim Maupin (NOLA Gold)

Samoa to face USA: Ah See Tuala (Northampton Saints); Ed Fidow (Aix Marseille), Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues), Alapati Leiua (Bristol Bears), JJ Taulagi (Hawkes Bay); Tusi Pisi (Bristol Bears), Melani Matavao (Otago); Logovi'i Mulipola (Newcastle Falcons), Motu Matu'u (London Irish), Paul Alo-Emile (Stade Francais), Kane Leaupepe (Bay of Plenty), Filo Paulo (London Irish), Josh Tyrrell (Doncaster Knights), Jack Lam (Bristol Bears), Faifili Levave (Auckland)

Replacements: Ray Niuia (North Harbour), Jordan Lay (Bristol Bears), James Lay (Bay of Plenty), Ben Nee-Nee (North Harbour), Iakopo Petelo-Mapu (Aana Chiefs), Dwayne Polataivao (Northcote), D'Angelo Leuila (Papatoetoe), Stacey Ili (Hawkes Bay)