Blog Banner

Jones set to make first start for Blues

28th February 2008

Young Cardiff Blues outside half Rhys Jones will make his first start for the region when they take on Munster in the Magners League this Saturday.

Jones, who arrived from Sale Sharks on a season long loan in December, first featured in the 11-6 win over the Dragons on Boxing Day.

Tickets for the match, 5.30pm kick off, are selling fast with only terrace and family stand tickets remaining.

Speaking ahead of the match David Young said, “They are just ahead of us in the league so it’s an important game for both sides. It is also a game either team could win, but we are determined to get the right result to keep us in the title race.”

Over 43 clubs from the region will be attending the Regional Clubs Day match, and everyone who wears their club shirt to the game will receive £5 off voucher for the Blues versus Scarlets fixture which will be played at the Arms Park on Friday 11th April at 7.10pm.

Seven teams from the region will also be parading their trophies at half time having won national competitions during the 06/07 season.

At the Arms Park the Blues have lost just once since September: 10-11 to Edinburgh in the Magners League on 4 January, while Munster have won five of their last six games in all competitions

Cardiff Blues Team: 15 Ben Blair, 14 Tal Selley,
13 Jamie Robinson, 12 Gareth Thomas, 11 Jamie Roberts, 10 Rhys Jones, 9 Richie Rees,
8 Xavier Rush (c), 7 Robin Sowden Taylor, 6 Mamma Molitika, 5 Paul Tito, 4 Deiniol Jones, 3 Gary Powell,
2 T Rhys Thomas, 1 John Yapp

Replacements: 16 Tauf’ao Filise, 17 Gareth Williams, 18 Scott Morgan, 19 Ben White, 20 Jason Spice,
21 Nick Macleod, 22 Dafydd Hewitt

Munster Team: 15. Shaun Payne, 14. Brian Carney, 13. Kieran Lewis, 12. Lifeimi Mafi, 11. Doug Howlett, 10. Paul Warwick, 9. Peter Stringer, 1. Federico Pucciariello, 2. Frank Sheahan, 3. Tony Buckley, 4. Donnacha Ryan, 5. Paul O’Connell (Captain), 6. Alan Quinlan, 7. Niall Ronan, 8. Anthony Foley

Replacements: 16. Denis Fogarty, 17. Eugene McGovern, 18. Mark Melbourne, 19. John O’Sullivan, 20. James Coughlan, 21. Tomas O’Leary, 22. Jeremy Manning