Blog Banner

Jenkins returns for Zebre clash

3rd November 2017

Gethin Jenkins will return to captain Cardiff Blues as one of 10 changes to face Zebre in the Guinness PRO14 on Saturday (7.35pm).

The front-row forward has been side-lined since April but leads an experienced pack against a rejuvenated Zebre side.
Jenkins packs down alongside Matthew Rees and Taufa’ao Filise in the front-row while Macauley Cook and Damian Welch form the second-row and Josh Turnbull starts at blindside flanker.
In the backs, Aled Summerhill and Garyn Smith start on the wing and in the centre respectively, while Lloyd Williams and Steve Shingler form a familiar half-back partnership.
Head coach Danny Wilson was pleased to have some selection dilemmas and expects a formidable challenge from an in-form Zebre outfit.
He said: “We have some senior players back and bolstering up-front that we’ve needed. That gives us a few selection decisions to make as opposed to perhaps not having them to make, so that’s pleasing.
“I’ve been really impressed with the changes at Zebre. From analysing the team, they’re bordering on being unrecognisable from what we’ve seen in the past.
“They’re playing a very different brand of rugby and have completely changed their approach. They’ve got some good personnel and athletes in there now and it’s going to be a new challenge for us.
“We’re keen to get back to winning ways, at home. We need to show what we showed out in Toulouse, against Lyon and in the second half against Dragons.
“If we can reproduce the form we’ve shown in recent weeks, we’ll hopefully pick up the win, but we know it’s going to be a challenge with the way Zebre are going at the moment.”
There are further returns from injury on the replacements bench with George Earle and Tom James back fit, while Ben Jones will make his first appearance of the season if he is called into action.
Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Aled Summerhill, Garyn Smith, Willis Halaholo, Blaine Scully; Steve Shingler, Lloyd Williams; Gethin Jenkins (capt), Matthew Rees, Taufa’ao Filise, Macauley Cook, Damian Welch, Josh Turnbull, Ollie Robinson, Nick Williams.
Replacements: Kirby Myhill, Corey Domachowski, Keiron Assiratti, George Earle, Sion Bennett, Tomos Williams, Ben Jones, Tom James