Blog Banner

Jenkins out of EDF Energy Cup Semis

21st March 2007

David Young has selected a team that sees Welsh internationals Tom Shanklin and Jamie Robinson start in the centre for Saturday's EDF Energy Cup semi final match.

The Blues however were dealt a blow with the news that Gethin Jenkins will not be available for selection after picking up a shoulder injury in last Saturday’s Wales v England match. The injury is expected to keep him out of action for up to two to three weeks.

Due to huge demand the Cardiff Blues have received an additional allocation of tickets priced at £18 for the match. Tickets are available by calling the Cardiff Blues Ticket Office on 029 2030 2030 or to buy online at

Cardiff Blues Team: 15 Ben Blair 14 Tom James 13 Jamie Robinson 12 Tom Shanklin 11 Chris Czekaj 10 Nicky Robinson 9 Mike Phillips 8 Xavier Rush(c) 7 Martyn Williams 6 Scott Morgan 5 Robert Sidoli 4 Deiniol Jones 3 Gary Powell 2 T Rhys Thomas 1 Taufa'ao Filise

Replacements: 16 Scott Roberts 17 Gareth Williams 18 Bradley Davies 19 Mark Lewis 20 Wayne Evans 21 Nick Macleod 22 Marc Stcherbina

Ospreys: 15 Lee Byrne 14 Shane Williams 13 Sonny Parker 12 Andrew Bishop 11 Nikki Walker 10 James Hook 9 Justin Marshall 1 Duncan Jones (capt) 2 Huw Bennett 3 Adam Jones, 4 Brent Cockbain 5 Alun Wyn Jones 6 Ryan Jones 7 Jonathan Thomas 8 Filogia Tiatia.

16 Barry Williams 17 Paul James 18 Andrew Lloyd 19 Richard Pugh 20 Shaun Connor 21 Jason Spice 22 Stefan Terblanche.

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England).