Blog Banner

Jenkins and Priestland make long-awaited returns to Wales squad

International | 13th October 2021

Ellis Jenkins and Rhys Priestland make long-awaited returns to the Wales set-up as 10 Cardiff players are involved in Wayne Pivac’s squad for the upcoming autumn campaign.

Back row Jenkins last featured in the famous red jersey in November 2018, where he suffered a serious knee injury in the dying moments of a man of the match display against Springboks.

Following more than two years on the sideline, the 28 year old, who led Cardiff to Challenge Cup glory in Bilbao in 2018, made a gradual return to action for his home club, earning a return to the international stage.

Meanwhile, outside half Priestland, who made a switch to the Arms Park over the summer, won the last of his 50 international caps against New Zealand in 2017.

They are joined by a further eight Blue and Black team-mates, including Ben Thomas, who will look to add to his first cap, which he won against Canada in the summer.

Willis Halaholo is also included in the centre division, while Cardiff duo Owen Lane and Josh Adams are included amongst the back three. Scrum half Tomos Williams completes the Cardiff contingent in the backs.

Up front, Rhys Carré is recalled after a fine start to the United Rugby Championship campaign, joining Dillon Lewis and Seb Davies.

Wasps back row Thomas Young, the academy product who will return to the capital next summer, is also included alongside former Cardiff pathway players Christ Tshiunza, Will Griff John, Louis Rees-Zammit and Callum Sheedy.

Wales squad for Autumn Nations Series 2021

Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (35 caps)
Rhodri Jones (Ospreys) (21 caps)
Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby) (13 caps)
Ken Owens (Scarlets) (82 caps)
Elliot Dee (Dragons) (40 caps)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (19 caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby) (31 caps)
WillGriff John (Scarlets) (Uncapped)
Tomas Francis (Ospreys) (57 caps)
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (148 caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys) (25 caps)
Will Rowlands (Dragons) (10 caps)
Ben Carter (Dragons) (3 caps)
Seb Davies (Cardiff Rugby) (9 caps)
Christ Tshiunza* (Exeter Chiefs)  (Uncapped)
Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (48 caps)
Thomas Young* (Wasps) (3 caps)
Taine Basham (Dragons) (3 caps)
Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Rugby) (11 caps)
Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) 31 caps)
Taulupe Faletau* (Bath Rugby) (86 caps)

BACKS (17);
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby) (25 caps)

Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (62 caps)
Kieran Hardy (Scarlets) (7 caps)
Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys) (27 caps)
Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby) (50 caps)
Dan Biggar* (Northampton Saints) (92 caps)
Callum Sheedy* (Bristol Bears) (12 caps)
Johnny Williams (Scarlets) (3 caps)
Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (91 caps)
Nick Tompkins* (Saracens) (13 caps)
Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby) (7 caps)
Ben Thomas (Cardiff Rugby) (1 cap)
Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby) (32 caps)
Owen Lane (Cardiff Rugby) (4 caps)
Louis Rees-Zammit* (Gloucester Rugby) (9 caps)
Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets) (5 caps)
Liam Williams (Scarlets) (71 caps)

*Unavailable for selection for New Zealand