Blog Banner

Guinness PRO14 Conferences confirmed

First Team News | 17th June 2019

Cardiff Blues will feature in Conference B of the Guinness PRO14 for the 2019/20 and 2020/21 seasons.

Guinness PRO14 have confirmed the Conference line-ups for the next two seasons, based on table standings in 2018/19.

Wales' Capital Region sit alongside Welsh rivals, Scarlets, in Conference B, with Edinburgh, Munster, Connacht, Isuzu Southern Kings and last season's surprise package, Benetton Rugby, also featuring.

John Mulvihill's side were ranked second amongst the Welsh sides, having finished with a higher overall points tally than the Llanelli-based region.

The criteria for placing teams in each Conference relies on competitiveness and ensuring an equal spread of teams from each union are present in both Conferences. As a result, the Conferences for the next two seasons are as follows:

How the Conferences were set

First, all teams were placed into a consolidated table

1 Glasgow Warriors (81 pts)
2 Munster Rugby (77)
3 Leinster Rugby (76)
4 Ulster Rugby (63)
5 Connacht Rugby (61)
6 Ospreys Rugby (58)
7 Benetton Rugby (57)
8 Cardiff Blues (54)
9 Scarlets (52)
10 Edinburgh Rugby (51)
11 Toyota Cheetahs (46)
12 Dragons Rugby (26)
13 Isuzu Southern Kings (22)
14 Zebre Rugby Club (19)

Next each team was slotted into their union ranking 
SCO 1: Glasgow Warriors (81)
SCO 2: Edinburgh Rugby (51)
ITA 1: Benetton Rugby (57)
ITA 2: Zebre Rugby Club (19)
SA 1: Toyota Cheetahs (46)
SA 2: Isuzu Southern Kings (22) 

IRE 1: Munster Rugby (77)
IRE 2: Leinster Rugby (76)
IRE 3: Ulster Rugby (63)
IRE 4: Connacht Rugby (61)
WAL 1: Ospreys Rugby (58)
WAL 2: Cardiff Blues (54)
WAL 3: Scarlets (52)
WAL 4: 
Dragons (26)

As the team with the most points Glasgow Warriors were placed into Conference A to allow the population to follow the sequence below:

Conference A
Scotland 1 (Glasgow Warriors)
Ireland 2 (Leinster Rugby)
Ireland 3 (Ulster Rugby)
Wales 1 (Ospreys Rugby)
Wales 4 (Dragons Rugby)
Italy 2 (Zebre Rugby Club)
South Africa 1 (Toyota Cheetahs)

Conference B
Scotland 2 (Edinburgh Rugby)
Ireland 1 (Munster Rugby)
Ireland 4 (Connacht Rugby)
Wales 2 (Cardiff Blues)
Wales 3 (Scarlets)
Italy 1 (Benetton Rugby)
South Africa 2 (Isuzu Southern Kings) 

This is sequencing is put in place to ensure each union is equally represented in each Conference which is a guiding principal of the format of the Guinness PRO14.