Blog Banner

Getting to know... Toyota Cheetahs

1st August 2017

Following today's exciting news that the South African teams will join the newly expanded Guinness PRO14, we take a look at the new boys.

Toyota Cheetahs (Conference A)

Founded: 2005
Location: Bloemfontein, South Africa
Stadium: Free State Stadium (Capacity: 48,000)
Head coach: Franco Smith
Toyota Cheetahs were formed in 2005, and entered an expanded Super Rugby competition for the 2006 campaign, alongside Western Force.
They are based at Bloemfontein’s Free State Stadium, where Wales defeated Japan in the 1995 Rugby World Cup and England were thrashed 4-1 by Germany in the last-16 of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.
They faced fellow South African side, Bulls, in their first game, and were defeated 30-18 in Bloemfontein.
In 2012, Cardiff Blues faced Cheetahs during a pre-season tour to South Africa, defeating the Bloemfontein-based outfit by 32-31.
Their biggest ever victory came in April 2016, when they defeated Sunwolves 92-17.
The Cheetahs are currently coaches by former Newport outside half, Franco Smith.
Players who have represented Cheetahs include Juan Smith, Cornal Hendricks, Adriaan Strauss, Ashley Johnson, Willie le Roux, Heinrich Brussow, CJ van der Linde and current Cardiff Blues lock, George Earle.

Interesting stat: Cheetahs completed the most offloads during the 2017 Super Rugby regular season.

You can watch Conference A opponents Toyota Cheetahs at Cardiff Arms Park in the 2017-18 season. Cardiff Blues Season Memberships are on sale now with prices starting at just £190 for adults. Buy yours today!