Blog Banner

Four Cardiff Blues selected in Wales squad

24th October 2017

Four Cardiff Blues players have been named in Warren Gatland's 36-man squad for Wales' upcoming autumn internationals.

Wales face Australia, New Zealand, Georgia and South Africa at the Principality Stadium in the coming weeks, kicking-off against the Wallabies on November 11.

With the likes of Sam Warburton, Ellis Jenkins and Gareth Anscombe ruled out and Gethin Jenkins yet to play this season, the Blues’ usual heavy representation has been limited.

Gatland has however, named Kristian Dacey, Seb Davies and Josh Navidi in the forwards, while in-form Alex Cuthbert is included among the backs.

The squad includes five new caps and will be led by Ospreys’ Alun Wyn Jones.

"I'm really excited about this squad as we kick off the two year countdown to the 2019 RWC," said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

"We see this series as an opportunity to expose some players to the test environment and continue to build our game as we look ahead to two years time.

"This autumn is a lot different to 12 months ago, where the focus was all about rankings. We have selected five uncapped players, there are a further six who made their debuts on the summer tour so it is a big opportunity to see all these players in this environment and I'm looking forward to seeing what they are able to do.

"The important message or those players who have missed out, the door isn't closed."


Forwards (20):
Rob Evans (Scarlets) (17 Caps)
Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (2 Caps)
Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (14 Caps)
Leon Brown (Dragons) (Uncapped)
Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (23 Caps)
Samson Lee (Scarlets) (34 Cap)
Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues) (4 Caps)
Elliot Dee (Dragons) (Uncapped)
Ken Owens (Scarlets) (50 Caps)
Jake Ball (Scarlets) (26 Caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys) (1 Cap)
Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues) (2 Caps)
Cory Hill (Dragons) (6 Caps)
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (Capt) (110 Caps)
Sam Cross (Ospreys) (Uncapped)
Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby) (66 Caps)
Dan Lydiate (Ospreys) (60 Caps)
Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (3 Caps)
Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (10 Caps)
Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) (51 Caps)

Backs (16):
Aled Davies (Scarlets) (2 Caps)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (25 Caps)
Rhys Webb (Ospreys) (28 Caps)
Dan Biggar (Ospreys) (56 Caps)
Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) (4 Caps)
Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby) (48 Caps)
Owen Williams (Gloucester) (1 Cap)
Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (64 Caps)
Tyler Morgan (Dragons) (4 Caps)
Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (Uncapped)*
Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (Uncapped)
Hallam Amos (Dragons) (11 Caps)
Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues) (46 Caps)
Steffan Evans (Scarlets) (2 Caps)
Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets) (71 Caps)
Liam Williams (Saracens) (43 Caps)