Blog Banner

Four Cardiff Blues retained for Wales under-20 as Hill is ruled out with injury

20th February 2019

Four Cardiff Blues players have retained their starting spots for Wales under-20's Six Nations clash against England on Friday (KO 7.05pm)

Following a bonus point win over Italy in the second round of Championship action, head coach Gareth Williams has made three changes to his starting line-up for the first home game of the campaign.

Quartet Max Llewellyn, Ben Warren, Teddy Williams and Ioan Davies have been retained in the XV, but there is a blow to scrum half Jamie Hill, who has been ruled out through injury after impressing in the opening rounds.

Hill is replaced by Dragons' Dafydd Buckland in the number nine shirt, as regional team-mate, Dan Babos, is brought onto the bench.

Dewi Cross and Iestyn Rees are also new faces in the starting line-up, while Max Ayling is a fresh name amongst the replacements. Following his hat-trick performance in Italy, Taine Basham has been recalled into the Dragons squad ahead of their Guinness PRO14 encounter against Benetton Rugby.

Both sides head into the encounter on level terms in the table with five points, after registering one win and one defeat in the Championship to date.

Wales under-20: Ioan Davies; Tomi Lewis, Max Llewellyn, Aneurin Owen, Dewi Cross; Cai Evans, Dafydd Buckland; Rhys Davies, Dewi Lake (capt.), Ben Warren, Ed Scragg, Teddy Williams, Lennon Greggains, Jac Morgan, Iestyn Rees

Replacements: Will Griffiths, Tom Devine, Kemsley Mathias, Max Ayling, Ellis Thomas, Dan Babos, Sam Costello, Deon Smith