Blog Banner

Four Cardiff Blues included in Wales squad for Georgia Test

16th November 2017

Four Cardiff Blues players are included in Wales' matchday squad for the Test against Georgia on Saturday (KO 2.30pm)

Seb Davies will make his first international appearance on home soil as he is selected at number eight, linking up with Ospreys' Sam Cross and Dan Lydiate in the back row.

Kristian Dacey joins Davies in the pack and is set to win his sixth cap, with Nicky Smith and Leon Brown named alongside the hooker in the front row.

Alex Cuthbert also returns to Warren Gatland's side, as he edges ever-closer to a half century of Welsh caps.

Meanwhile, Josh Navidi, who impressed in the series opener against Australia last week, is named on the bench.

Gatland believes Saturday is an opportunity for squad members to stake a claim ahead of the final two autumn fixtures, where Wales will take on New Zealand and South Africa.

"We felt this week was really important to give a number of the squad as much exposure as possible to Test match rugby," said the Wales head coach.

"It is an exciting opportunity for some of the younger guys to take the field and show us what they are capable of.

"We have got a fair amount of experience to throw in the mix too, both with players who have got a decent number of cap numbers but also players who have been around the environment for a good while too.

"Georgia are coming to Cardiff on the back of a good victory last weekend and they will be looking to show what they can do on this stage and we have to be ready for that."

Gatland has made a total of 14 changes for the clash at Principality Stadium, with Liam Williams the only one to retain his place in the side, making a switch from wing to full back.

Owen Watkin and Scott Williams form a new-look centre partnership, while Rhys Priestland makes a return to the Wales team, combining Ospreys' Rhys Webb at half back.

Adam Beard and Cory Hill form the second row, while Dragons hooker Elliot Dee could make his debut from the bench.

Wales: Liam Williams (Saracens); Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Hallam Amos (Dragons); Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Rhys Webb (Ospreys); Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Leon Brown (Dragons), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Cory Hill (Dragons), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys, captain), Sam Cross (Ospreys), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues)

Replacements: Elliot Dee (Dragons), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Owen Williams (Gloucester)