Blog Banner

Five young Blues named by Wales Under-18s

3rd March 2015

Five youngsters from Cardiff Blues are set for their first taste of international rugby this weekend as Wales Under-18s face France on Sunday afternoon (1.30pm kick-off, Marcoussis).

Blues lock Calum Haggett will captain the side and he is joined in the team by regional team-mates Corey Domachowski, Callum Bradbury, Morgan Sieniawski and Aled Ward in the starting line-up.

Gerwyn Coleman, Kieron Assirrati, Shane Lewis Hughes and Joe Gaughan are named among the replacements.

WRU international skills coach Geraint Lewis, who coaches the side along with Chris Horsman, James Chapron and Cardiff Met’s Danny Milton said: “We are very much looking forward to our first international game of the season.

“France have already played one international, losing to England away from home, so they’ll be wanting to put things right against us.

“Playing Leicester Academy two weeks ago was a useful exercise but we were disappointed with elements of our performance and result of that match (14-0), so there were a lot of lessons learned. 

“We have been working hard since that game and we will be looking to put better phases together on Sunday. The extra preparation time should also help.”

Wales then host England to St Helens, Swansea the following Sunday (4pm 15 March) following Wales Women’s Six Nations game against Ireland at 12noon at the same venue.

Wales Under 18: Rhun Williams (RGC / Llandrillo / Caernarfon); Lloyd Lewis (Dragons/ Gwynlliw), Kieran Williams (Ospreys / Neath Port Talbot Coll/ Glynneath), Danny Cross (RGC / Rydal Penrhos / Wrexham), Shaun Pearce (Scarlets / Coleg sir Gar/ Kidwelly); Billy McBryde (Scarlets / Coleg Sir Gar/ Llanelli), Matthew Aubrey (Ospreys / Gower College / Pontarddulais); Corey Domachowski (Blues / Gilfach Goch), Ellis Shipp (Dragons / Coleg Gwent / Penallta), Leon Brown (Dragons / Newport High / Cross Keys), Calum Haggett (Blues / Cymoedd / Gilfach Goch), Callum Bradbury (Blues / Cymoedd / Beddau), Nathan Hudd (Dragons), Morgan  Sieniawski (Blues / Cymoedd/ Beddau), Aled Ward (Blues / Cowbridge / Cardiff Quins)

Replacements: Gerwyn Coleman (Blues / Cymoedd), Rhys Fawcett (Scarlets / Llandovery), Kieron Assirrati (Blues / Coleg y Cymoedd / Wattstown), Shane Lewis Hughes (Blues / Cowbridge Comprehensive), Joe Gaughan (Blues /Cowbridge / Glamorgan Wanderers), Connor Edwards (Dragons / Croesyceiliog RFC), Arwel Robson (Dragons  / Coleg Gwent / Penallta), Efan Jones (RGC / Rydal Penrhos / Wrexham)