Blog Banner

Five Blues players in starting XV for Wales U20

1st February 2012

Wales Under 20 Head Coach Danny Wilson has named his side to face Ireland on Friday when they kick off their Six Nations campaign at Dubarry Park (KO 7.05pm).

Five players return from last years’ squad, while 10 players will earn their first caps. Wilson is fully aware that Ireland will be looking for revenge after their defeat to Wales in the final game of last years’ IRB Junior World Championships in Treviso when they beat the Irish 38-24.

“We are prepared and looking forward to facing Ireland on Friday. The first game of the tournament is always an exciting fixture,” said Wilson.

“Training has been really good this week. Players have been able to train with us more and we’ve seen a real benefit from that.

“We’ve been able to have some live scrum and line-out practise against Cardiff RFC which has helped tremendously.”

Wilson believes Kirby will stand up as captain against Ireland, saying: “Kirby is a natural leader, he is very professional and is a well-respected squad member. We are confident he will lead the team well for this match.

“Kirby was a natural choice for us. He is an experienced player with the U20 World Cup and also he has been a big part of the Scarlets this season, in terms of regional experience he can offer a lot from this.

“He has shown good leadership in training, the boys have responded well to him and he is capable of leading this team on Friday. We’ve been impressed with him as a professional and a leader.”

Wales Under 20

15 Ross Jones - Scarlets14 Iolo Evans – Scarlets 13 Nathan Edwards – Bridgend 12 Cory Allen – Blues 11 Luke Morgan – Ospreys 10 Sam Davies – Ospreys 9 Jonathan Evans - Dragons

1 Rob Evans –Scarlets 2 Kirby Myhill – Scarlets 3 Will Griff John – Blues 4 Matthew Screech – Blues 5 Rhodri Hughes – Ospreys 6 Ellis Jenkins – Blues 7 Daniel Thomas – Scarlets 8 Reuben Tucker - Blues


16 Jamie Sollis – Dragons 17 Thomas Davies – Blues 18 Dan Suter – Ospreys 19 Dan Crimmins – Cardiff 20 Ieuan Jones – Dragons 21 Joshua Davies – Dragons 22 Lewis Williams – Blues 23 Luke Williams – Dragons