Blog Banner

Five Blues named in Wales squad for Ireland

4th August 2015

Five Cardiff Blues players are named in the Wales squad to face Ireland at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday.

Scott Williams will captain Wales, leading a team that contains four uncapped players. The Scarlets centre will become Wales’ 131st captain on his 30th Test appearance and will be joined in the centre by uncapped Tyler Morgan.

Eli Walker, Dominic Day and Ross Moriarty will all earn their first Test caps in the opening Dove Men Test.

Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland has named a blend of youth and experience for his side’s first warm-up game ahead of the Rugby World Cup. 

Hallam Amos will win his second cap at full-back and will join Alex Cuthbert and Walker in the back-three.

There is huge experience at half-back with James Hook lining up alongside Mike Phillips who will make his 94th appearance for his country.

In the front-row Ospreys prop Nicky Smith and Aaron Jarvis are joined by former regional team-mate Richard Hibbard.

Day will feature for the first time in the second-row, packing down alongside Scarlets’ Jake Ball.

Moriarty is joined in the back-row by vice-captain Justin Tipuric, and Ospreys No.8, Dan Baker.

After intense training camps in Switzerland and Doha, Gatland is looking forward to seeing his side take to the field on Saturday and grasping their opportunity.

“Saturday is a real opportunity for these players to put their hand up,” he said. “We have been really impressed over the last few weeks, we have put the players under a lot of pressure and they have responded really well.

“Today is their opportunity to show what they can do on the international stage.

“We have the right blend of youth and experience and it’s all about grasping the chance at this level.

“It’s going to be a huge occasion, Ireland coming to town, a packed Millennium Stadium and players with everything to play for.”

There are two further uncapped players named amongst the replacements in Cardiff Blues duo Kristian Dacey and Gareth Anscombe. 

They are joined on the bench by regional team-mates Scott Andrews and Lloyd Williams. Rob Evans, James King and Taulupe Faletau complete the forwards with Matthew Morgan completing the back replacements.
WALES TEAM TO PLAY IRELAND: Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), * Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Scott Williams (Scarlets, CAPT), * Eli Walker (Ospreys), James Hook (Gloucester Rugby), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro); Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Richard Hibbard (Gloucester), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), * Dominic Day (Bath Rugby), * Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys, Vice-CAPT), Dan Baker (Ospreys).

Replacements: Rob Evans (Scarlets), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Scott Andrews (Cardiff Blues), James King (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Matthew Morgan (Bristol Rugby)